Everyone Loves a Backstory

in #art3 years ago

I've been a working artist for over 30 years now. First as a tattoo artist, completing an apprenticeship straight out of the Army. Then, in 2007, I added freelance illustration as a side hustle. All the while painting and trying to establish a fine art career.

backstory 1.png
Some of my tattoo work throughout the years.

backstory 2.png

A few of my favorite freelance projects.

backstory 3.png
My more recent traditional art.

When I was in college, back in the dark ages, my college, the Rochester Institute of Technology started offering computer graphics courses and were trying to build a program for it. My father, (a total tech geek) urged me to take as many of the classes as I could. I think my exact words were, "I'll never give up my paintbrushes and computer graphics will never take hold!" My father loves to point out to me how 90% of my art is now either done completely, or started digitally. 😉

I have only recently discovered the world of NFT art, but am thrilled and excited to be at the start of what I am sure, will be the next thing to completely rock the fine art world. And, I am grateful for having, for me, the greatest job in the world.