I am vans. A short story of a modern Pop Idol.

in #art4 years ago (edited)

Pop culture symbols

For Andy Warhol's era was Merilyn Monroe and Cambell's tomato soup, both of them are two of his most iconic artworks of all time no doubt about it.

So what is our our Pop culture symbols now days, there is not an easy answer in my head I am going from lady Gaga to K-pop which I don't really actually like or listen so there is that. I can't relate with them so they are scrapped.

Maybe Justing Bieber? Nah he entered the stratosphere to fast and was burned out. Also really bad music even for pop standards. Lana Del Ray? Great singer, not Pop enough. not enough versatility should have been an opera singer, God what a voice that girl has! Something that is way to relatable to ignore.

I need something more.

Why do I need to find a face though I shouldn't be bothered with that. they are consumed and they are used and thrown away way to fast to keep track of them. They will get their 15 minutes of fame I need something that will leave long after I will be gone. My own Cambell's Tomato Soup in a way.

Something that everyone will use everyone will see and probably everyone would relate. Clothes are fine and all but the style changes every couple of years we throw the away like we do with Pop Idols to get the newest coolest looking clothes to year but we always have in mind that our new top our new pants will fit well our old shoes. We rarely throw our shoes away unless they broke, rip or get to many holes to serve their purpose. But it must be a shoe that can be relatable with males woman, attack helicopters and whatnot. There must be no gender or a tag on them. Something like all stars but that was a pasts century Idol cannot really relate with younger people that much anymore. I need another shoe, a shoe that does not really try to sell but it still does. And even I don't know why I want one. It mostly comes in black? I haven't seen any other out there in the wild I am sure there are plenty but I haven't seen them, I am talking about Vans.

Why do I get obsessed and I do a post about shoes?

Vans is a design that will stay in the history at the years that come. It bridges the nostalgia of older generations like me that remember what All-Stars used to stand for back in the day and also the need for comfort of our today needs and standards. The punk attitude, the live for the moment and the casual without fanfares. The unfortunate enough uncomfortable stepping of a rock strapped at your feet that are All-Stars has now redeemed itself in this design of Vans. Vans wakes that feeling of cyber-"Punk" inside me. And I love it.

A big plus it looks great in any occasion and almost any clothes, I will get mine black though...
And I will get this printed for my wall.


Image made by me.

I am vans a la Andy Warhall.jpg


I used the well known printing style from comics and poster called Halftone. And did the "Merilyn" variations.
25cents shift hue and called it a day.


Are we all burned out Pop Idols wannabes?

What should I tag this? I didn't make the image to present an artwork I mostly wrote an article about my thought process and how I think of art. How I analyse my subject when I get interested into something and how I get obsessed with what most people will find probably stupid. But anyhow I never bothered with that. I am sure you are out there and you read that and you are just like I am. Sometimes tired some times happy, other times in comfort and other times in great stress. Some times motivated and others just a lazy pickle staying in bed. So...

I think I am writing this mostly because I wanted to express my frustration in a funny way. I feel like my 15 minutes of fame are gone, or never came? Or even worst that they did came but it didn't really made any difference I wouldn't have noticed anyhow I never was interested into be liked by others. Why should it have made any difference I am mostly about comforting my self and satisfying my wondering mind day in day out either that be by reading or learning a new craft, the days tend to get shorter year after year. 24 hours will never cut it to do all the things I wanted and I am fine with that. I just need to focus to what matters the most into my life. I need to have some comfort or I tend to lose my "Punk" attitude.

Are you Vans?
I for sure thought I was but I feel like I am getting holes at my shoes so I need to patch them.
Can you do the run, and walk the way? I hope you can I will follow you from a distance and admire your progress.

I got autovoter enabled and I am following the votes of curie steemstem and Autovoter by 30% on each, I will make a post about it maybe more dolphins would like to participate. I do want to support more people manually but I get really exhausted in the process and I don't genuinely have the time to spend, so I will put my trust to those that do that already and follow them with my vote. I will check them every now and then but I think I do trust them more than enough after so many years, to do the best they can do, given the circumstances. I know you all want to be pop stars for a day I am to tired for that, I just want to read write and play music, and some times do a painting or two. So I hope we can all do it as one and collectively get the best ones out there to shine for us...
Have a good night.

Yours truly.