You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: NFT Showroom artist guide / Create an account / get whitelisted / tokenize!

in #art3 years ago

Hello, I recently bought an NFT from @bryan-imhoff. Then transferred it to another one of my accounts. Things worked smoothly, although looking at the information published on the hive chain (JSON of the custom transaction) I feel the caracterisation of the object bought could have been more extensive.

However I don't really see what is the benefit of buying it since the access to the 9,5 MB file on IPFS is broken ... so all I can do with my art, aside from transferring it, is to look at it on the screen of my computer, which I could have done also without buying it.

I believe that at least making sure the owner can download a high resolution file (and perhaps print a big poster for his room) shouuld be a high priority for you guys

Kind regards
Sorin

Sort:  

Hey @sorin.cristescu, first off, thanks for the purchase and the support! I'll admit I'm much more artist than tech guy... so I'll be interested in seeing what @nftshowroom has to offer in terms of the IPFS hosting. I'll definitely be looking at seeing what I can do to host or add redundancy if that's possible.

Clicking on the IPFS link is just giving me a spinning wheel for a while now, so I do assume that's broken. However, the @nftshowroom website itself does seem to be hosting the image in full resolution. If I right-click and "save as" I get the full 9.5 MB file which should be a pretty good resolution for a solid print if you so desire!

Of course the fact that everyone has access to the high resolution artwork without purchase does get back to the heart of some folks arguments about NFT's. You could have just saved it and printed it off without buying and I would be totally fine with that! I do plan on adding value in the future by offering additional "drops" and incentives to holders of my NFTs. I'm excited by the potential to do things like that here on Hive, as it's so easy to communicate with the accounts directly on-chain.

If there's anything I can do to help let me know!

I'm going to copy this comment again here just incase you didn't know about unlockables!

We host the image on both IPFS and an image server so the site loads quickly and also for redundancy purposes. We occasionally experience some slowness with the IPFS server and have been looking into that.

As for the second part we have offered unlockables for about 6 months now, this means the artist can upload a lower res image for public viewing and then include whatever they like in the unlockable section that is only accessible to the buyer. Artist aren't forced to use that option but it is there as a choice if they would like to use it :)

Thanks for the answer, @bryan-imhoff.

I believe the whole idea of "owning" is predicated on exclusivity ... So if everybody can simply right-click and download the hi-res file, then there's much less reason to buy it. Personally, I think the whole "NFT" thing is rather annoying and obfuscating. I believe a large majority of people would rather buy art than a funny-sounding acronym. Although the blockchain environment skews our perception: among the tiny sliver of blockchain-savvy people, the proportions are reversed: because of the hype, the NFT-seekers are in a majority. But "art" or "NFT", exclusivity should be part of the proposition.

Here is an article I wrote some time ago about this.

https://peakd.com/blockchain/@sorin.cristescu/revisiting-steemland-a-fairer-and-more-transparent-art-market-as-a-new-export

It was before the NFT-craze. I reckon "crazes" like these are good though, as they spur investment

Sorry I seemed to have missed this comment, we host the image on both IPFS and an image server so the site loads quickly and also for redundancy purposes. We occasionally experience some slowness with the IPFS server and have been looking into that.

As for the second part we have offered unlockables for about 6 months now, this means the artist can upload a lower res image for public viewing and then include whatever they like in the unlockable section that is only accessible to the buyer. Artist aren't forced to use that option but it is there as a choice if they would like to use it :)