How to make Leaves of Lórien Pins from a Soda Can ~ Lord of the Rings

in #art4 years ago (edited)

IMG_20200707_140950 (1).jpg

Recently some friends gave me a cape/cloak that they were getting rid of, because they know my tendency to upcycle and make new things out of old. When I saw it, I thought it would be a perfect Hobbit outfit for Lord of the Rings cosplayers, even though it didn't have a hood. (I don't like hoods anyway, do you?)

_38A8955 (1).jpg

So I decided to make a Leaf of Lórien clasp for it and see if I could sell it on Etsy. Guess what? I found this fantastic tutorial about how to make them from an old soda can!

I really liked this tutorial, because not only were the instructions clear and fun, they also showed you how you could use what you already have and even things that would normally be thrown away, to make something beautiful!

IMG_20200705_172909 (1).jpg

I made four pins in total, and already sold two along with the cape in my Etsy store. They've actually been really popular there, getting a lot of favorites, and someone messaged me the other day asking if I could make more in case they run out before she can buy one. I think I might just do that!

_38A8967 (1).jpg

I'd really recommend this tutorial if you enjoy working with your hands and are a Lord of the Rings fan. Or, if you feel lazy, check out my store and I might just have one in stock. :)

www.etsy.com/shop/TheMermaidIsland

~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~

Thanks for stopping by! I'd love to hear from other cosplayers and costumers on Hive!

Pictures of me wearing the cape were taken by Walter Fernández

Sort:  

Thanks for the massive upvotes, @eeks! <3