Saint Petersburg Ice Sculpture Festival

in #art5 years ago

Hello, friends!

More recently, I told about festival of sand sculptures, which took place in the summer in my city. And now it's winter and we have a festival of ice sculptures.

We visited this festival with my daughter in early January. It was my first time at the ice sculpture festival. And it was unusual for me to see so much ice.

We went to the weekend and stood in line for tickets for a long time. All ice sculptures are placed in the tent, not in the open air. This is different from the sand sculpture festival. The tent is dark, cold and slippery) Also there were a lot of people who took pictures with the sculptures. I had to wait to photograph the sculptures myself.

The theme of the festival was called "Journey around the world", which invites viewers to see all six continents of our planet with their characteristic architecture, flora and fauna, as well as the underwater world of the oceans.

All sculptures are highlighted in blue and purple light, and one in red.

So, let's go on an ice journey!

Our journey will begin with this Grand sculpture, which symbolizes the Russian winter. We're really cold right now. For the second day in the morning -20 C. it is abnormal frosts for St. Petersburg, which is by the sea. Such frosts are typical for Siberia. "Russian winter" is rushing all over Russia, freezing the cities on its way.

IMG_6653 copy.jpg

Arctic and Antarctic

These ice sculptures show us the Arctic and Antarctica. Penguins are the South pole and polar Bears are the North pole.

IMG_6621 copy.jpg

IMG_6625 copy.jpg

IMG_6687 copy.jpg

Russia, St. Petersburg

In St. Petersburg there are many statues of lions.

Peter the Great wanted to decorate the city in the Roman style, so the statues of lions installed at the entrance to the temples and palaces. Many lion guards keep a paw on the ball to stay awake. If the lion sleep - paw will slide off the balloon and he wakes up.

IMG_6642 copy.jpg

The next symbols of the city that attract tourists in the summer season are moveable bridges. And in front of the sailboat, which is illuminated in red.

IMG_6690 copy.jpg

IMG_6670 copy.jpg

I wrote a post about the holiday "Scarlet sails", which takes place every June in St. Petersburg. This is a very beautiful holiday! This ice sculpture symbolizes a sailboat with scarlet sails.

IMG_6707 copy.jpg

On board the sailboat - pig-a symbol of the year in the Chinese calendar. Chinese calendar symbols are popular in Russia.

IMG_6718 copy.jpg

China

Chinese dragon is one of the most beautiful ice sculptures of the festival. Transparent and filigree! I loved it!

IMG_6634 copy.jpg

IMG_6628 copy.jpg

Chinese pagoda

IMG_6632 copy.jpg

Panda sitting and eating bamboo)

IMG_6633 copy.jpg

And the same Chinese dragon from a different angle.

IMG_6682 copy.jpg

Italy, Venice

This ice sculpture shows Venice, namely the Venice festival.

IMG_6636 copy.jpg

A gondolier wearing a plague doctor mask. By the way, do you know why the mask has such a long beak? In the Middle ages, when there was an epidemic of bubonic plague in Europe, doctors wore these masks, which were prototypes of modern respirators.

IMG_6637 copy.jpg

India

India meets us elephant and tiger

IMG_6647 copy.jpg

IMG_6729 copy.jpg

USA

The inscription "Hollywood" know it all.

IMG_6657 copy.jpg

New York

IMG_6661 copy.jpg

Statue of Liberty. It seems to me that the Statue of Liberty is rolling on the board on the waves.

IMG_6724 copy.jpg

And this Indian? I'm not sure, because I couldn't find the sign. But I think that this sculpture also applies to North America.

IMG_6727 copy.jpg

South America

Monkey sitting on the wall of an ancient temple, jungle and huge boas...

IMG_6741 copy.jpg

IMG_6755 copy.jpg

Galápagos Islands

Galápagos Islands is known for its large number of local species of fauna. Charles Darwin conducted research here that led to the creation of an evolutionary theory of the origin of species.

Galápagos tortoise

IMG_6672 copy.jpg

Marine iguana

IMG_6671 copy.jpg

Australia

I was glad when I saw Australia, because in this moment I remembered about @scrawly and @veryspider who live in Australia and I met here.

Australia was represented by the aquatic inhabitants of the Great Barrier Reef.

Stunningly beautiful ice octopus

IMG_6676 copy.jpg

And these icicles represent corals at the bottom of the ocean.

IMG_6677 copy.jpg

Egypt

Pyramids are traditional symbols of Egypt.

IMG_6679 copy.jpg

IMG_6681 copy.jpg

IMG_6678 copy.jpg

In addition to countries, continents and cities, the festival was a sculpture of pigs - the symbol of the year in the Chinese calendar.

This pig is covered with coins.

IMG_6654 copy.jpg

And this is the little piggy that hid in the corner.

IMG_6736 copy.jpg

And this is the pig pirate!

IMG_6720 copy.jpg

I also want to post here a video of how these sculptures were created. I found it on the official website of the festival.


official site of the festival via

I hope you enjoyed this icy journey!

Cheers

Veta

Power House Creatives Logos FINAL_float.png

Sort:  

What a wonderful around the world tour all in ice! Gorgeous photos!

Thank you! I am very pleased that you liked my photos :)

so so beautiful! I have never seen any ice sculptures ever! too warm here 😂

Thank you! ) I am glad that many people who live in a warm climate can see my post and see ice sculptures :)

Awesome sculptures with themes around the world. Thanks for showing us.

Thanks for the comment! I'm glad you liked my post)

OMG

These are incredible photos of very beautiful ice sculptures, @veta-less ! What an amazing festival !!!! I am absolutely awed by the detailing and designs of each piece ! And the photos are really nicely taken, too, I can see the sculptures and set pieces clearly :D Very lovely post !

I'm glad you liked it! I am also amazed at the detail and elegance of these sculptures! :)

Magical art in ice pieces that make such beautiful subjects to photograph. Beautifully photographed @veta-less. Would make wonderful subject material for drawing. ♥︎♥︎⚖️♥︎♥︎

Yes, it's like an Ice Kingdom)) About drawing - an interesting idea! Thanks ))

Wow! What an amazing festival... I wish I could go myself, it must be pretty cold but I think it's worth it to see all of these gorgeous sculptures. My favourite is the octopus, so detailed and intricately sculpted <3.
                     
I'm glad you showed me this post. You always make such an entertaining articles to read ^_^.

Oh, I'm glad you looked here @scrawly :) Yes, it's very cold...brrr, but beautiful as the Snow Queen's Palace :)

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by Veta-less from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

I cannot help to wonder hom much time and patience was put into all of this

I admire these creators.

Очень интересный пост! Классные фото!

The dragon is quite amazing (as is everything else), but I think the octopus might just be my favorite! Any kind of sculptures like that are just so stunning. It is baffling to me the amount of talent and skill that goes into each one!

I wish we had something like this its gorgeous, and the way they make it in the official video WoW.....