Art Talk: Fredric Bazille

in #arttalk4 years ago (edited)

Today's artist highlight is Fredric Bazille.

Last week I did post French Impressionist Tour post. Although Fredric Bazille was not an Impressionist I believe that he would have been had he lived through the Franco Prussian War. His painting Woman with Peonies is one of my favorite in the National Gallery of Art in DC.



Frederic Bazille
Young Woman With Peonies, 1870

Frederic Bazille was born in Montpellier, France on December 6, 1841. He came from a wealthy family and had access to great art early in his life and was generous with his wealth.

When he was 18 he moved to Paris to study medicine. He met Auguste Renior and Alfred Sisley and soon began taking art classes. He failed his medical exam in 1864 at the age of 23 and began art full time. He also became good friends with Claude Monet and Edouard Manet. In 1865 he was sharing a studio with Monet and traveled to Fontainebleau to pose for Monet's Luncheon on the Grass.

Frederic painted around 60 paintings in his short career, from 1864 to 1870.

Young Woman With Peonies which is shown above was painted in 1870. This was also the year he died in battle. He joined the army in August 1870 a month after the start of the Franco Prussian war at the age of 28 and he died..

He was good friends with many of the Impressionist painters and I like to think he would have joined them in showing at The Anonymous Society of Painters, Sculptors, Engravers, ect. that came to be known as the First impressionist show in 1874.

For a great lecture on Frederic Bazille and the exhibition the National Gallery of Art did in 2017 I am including the link. It is an hour long lecture but well worth listening if you are interested in learning more about Frederic Bazille.

After doing this research I want to go to Montpellier, in Southern France and see his hometown and the art there in in Paris at the Musee de Orsay.


Sources
Wikepedia- Frederic Bazille
The Art Story- Frederic Bazille
Lecture: Introduction to the Exhibition: Frederic Bazille and the Birth of Impressionism

Art Talk Series Highlights

2020
Art Talk: Recycled Plastic Art Movement
Art Talk: Gates of Paradise

Italian Renaissance
Art Talk: NGA Italian Renaissance Tour
Art Talk: Raphael
Art Talk: Venus
Art Talk: Egg Tempera
Art Talk: Guest Blogger, @laurabellamy

French Impressionism
Art Talk: NGA French Impressionism Tour

Sort:  

👋 Hi @sjarvie5, I was flipping through the blockchain and stumbled on your work! You've been upvoted by Sketchbook / a community for design and creativity. Looking forward to crossing paths again soon.

Join the Sketchbook Community

Thanks a lot. I do enjoy art and art history!

I do love the National Gallery.

Good cause I have a lot of Art Talks coming from the National Gallery!

LOL, I have at least one post at some point coming from the National Gallery.

That's a great painting. Many thanks. And here's something from my museum ;) http://cyfrowe.mnw.art.pl/dmuseion/docmetadata?id=25873&show_nav=true

Thanks. Another art person on Hive. :) Thanks for sharing your museum info too. Look like it is in Poland?

Yes! I work at the National Museum in Warsaw. BTW if you haven;t noticed. I set up a community devoted to art history. Maybe you would like to join it?

Great. I joined a did a cross post. Yay an art history community. I didn't know if or how many other people would be interested in art and art history on the block chain. I make my posts so that I can learn about the art each week. :)