Stacking some Apple Wood

in #asplattslife4 years ago

If it’s free it’s me... I ran across a bunch of apple wood the other day and thought it would be great to gather some up. I know most are thinking, “Use it to BBQ with” but I already have a smoker that I can change the type of wood pellets I burn, so... why not scoop some up for the backyard burn barrel and camping????

They were in about 4 foot lengths so I cut them to 12-18 inch lengths to make them easy to handle and they fit easily in my washtub burn barrel. Also I am planning on building a “cage” that mounts on the back bumper of my camp trailer to haul wood in.

4207D122410C42CABC99A72DB532E400.jpeg

My plan is to keep gathering more and more and fill up that whole corner of my garden area. Trust me... I know where there mountains of this apple wood is.:wink:wink:

It’s about 95 F here and after cutting all that wood I need to crack a cold on and cool off.

D55D7CCAEC064ECB883411277984E8A5.jpeg

Cheers!

9730FF78B35142D89349809F353FBB53.png

Your Random
Dose of...

Sort:  

1 !BEER Token for you

Sorry, you don't have enough staked BEER in your account. You need 24 BEER in your virtual fridge to give some of your BEER to others. To view or trade BEER go to hive-engine.com

So, where did all these free wood come from? Just side of the road, or?

There are massive apple orchards around here that are on my companies electrical system. HUGE customers!! I was checking out why a 2,250 horsepower pump station was shutting off. Well I may or may not have filled the back of my bucket truck full of wood after I got done...

They cut all these mature trees down to basically nothing and graft new branches on them. They just take all this wood and burn it, so I have access to the head maintenance guy's number and when my personal truck is done... time to load up!!! Lol

Oh nice! That's a bargain.

good job! ;D

Free stuff is the best stuff. Food especially 😜😜

growing is free :D

Nice man, but for real, tell me about that pool! Is that thing homemade???

DAHAHAH No but I am considering getting wild and building my own in-ground pool. But Mama-Splatts ain't too fond of the idea. Lol

Congratulations @splatts! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 2250 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 2500 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board And compare to others on the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @hivebuzz:

The Hive community is in mourning. Farewell @lizziesworld!
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

That’s one hell of a stack. Cheers buddy that will be nice for smoking or campfires.

Lol...Just gathered a bit then.

Nice score, always good to come across some free wood.

We have apple orchards for days!! The first fruits apple orchard is massive!!
A9F7CE987CF742E0B9D321D435E0ED69.jpeg

First fruits farms Prescott Wa. Look it up on google maps. You will get a better idea of how huge it is. I have gotten lost in there in the middle of the night before. No cell service, trying to fix an outage. HAHAHAHA.

I like apple orchards...Well, I like what they produce...Apple pie! 😂

I envy you, all that wood, and here we would normally be in the mid to upper 90's, but so far we've only just been over 90° once so far @splatts

We are suppose to drop down to 71 in just 2 days!! Weird?!?! I can't wait to score some more free wood once my truck gets finished.