Writing is a Skill that Requires Practice.

in #augustbradley4 years ago (edited)

Slept until 08:46. Result! Still feeling tired though. I made Illy coffee again because Len was still sleeping. She got up just as the last drips dropped into the mug. Ugh.

I read a nice quote from Scott Adams' blog yesterday that kind of sums up what I'm trying to do here:

Writing is a skill that requires practice. So the first part of my system involves practicing on a regular basis. I didn’t know what I was practicing for, exactly, and that’s what makes it a system and not a goal. I was moving from a place with low odds (being an out-of-practice writer) to a place of good odds (a well-practiced writer with higher visibility).

Scott Adams

It was that that inspired me to make this a thing that I do and not just a thing that I think about. And besides, I LOVE this Ducky One 2 keyboard with cherry red switches!

Yesterday's Goals

What were yesterday's goals? Let me check...

  1. I didn't decide on the Notion course yet. I'm letting it percolate. I did reread August Bradley's sales page and it *almost* converted and still very well might.
  2. Profits reinvested into Finiko and Finalmente as well. I had four plans cash out in Finalmente yesterday!
  3. Adding more Last.fm posts seems like a thing to do maybe one at a time as it's not moving the needle on anything.
  4. I did get all the guitar exercises done, and done well too, including recording one and playing the teacher part to the recording AND tabbing one out in Guitar Pro.

Small Wins

Installing Guitar Pro and tabbing out a tune. That was a bit of a hurdle that I'd been putting off for a long time. There's a real learning curve to that software, but I managed to figure out enough to notate a whole exercise!

Content Consumed

I did the dog walk loop in the middle of the day and listened to an enjoyable episode of Roderick on the Line. John Roderick talked at length about a relationship and went into the emotion behind it. It really get a lot from John's candour, but this one in particular was quite moving and inspirational.

Ep. 399: “The Initiating Woundedness” - Roderick on the Line - Merlin Mann on Huffduffer

I started reading Mindset, by Carol Dweck. This came up on Jim Kwik's talk for Teachable's Share What You Know Summit, but the reviews put me off buying it at that time. It came up again on August Bradley's course page as a prerequisite for the course, so I thought I'd give it a go. So far I haven't learned anything from it that I didn't already know. One reviewer suggested not bothering with it but reading Scott Adams' book, How to Fail at Almost Everything and Still Win Big: Kind of the Story of My Life, instead. That seems more in my wheelhouse.

Can I do the thing that Ali Abdaal recommended in a YouTube video and stop reading a book? Can I really do that?

But wait, let me give Carol Dweck's book a proper chance. I'll read more today.

Today's Goals

  1. Post the Blue Compass mic clamp back for a refund
  2. Post a book away from someone who asked for it on Bookmooch
  3. Learn Malagueña from the Solo Guitar Playing book.
  4. Read Carol Dweck's book.
  5. Walk the dogs around the circuit.
  6. Write to Teachable with my questions. They didn't respond to my Tweets.

Doesn't sound like a really full day, does it? I could do more guitar but I want to NOT over extend with my goals and end up not fulfilling them. And I can spend as much time as is left reading and making notes.



Posted from my blog with SteemPress : https://sunbane.com/morning-pages-2020-10-08/
Sort:  

Doesn't sound like a really full day, does it?

.......sounds like waaaaaaaaaaay more than I like to fit into that same time-period ¯_(ツ)_/¯