Stitching Photos To Make Property Maps.

in #autelevo5 years ago


One of the products I would like to experiment with and offer to clients is large, high definition pictures of an entire property.

It could be helpful to people like me, as a tool to plan out our property. The idea came to me when I was studying Permaculture. I thought that starting with a good picture that could be modified to design property layouts would be a nice tool. Other farm owners and any other number of different use cases might benefit from this kind of tool.

I'm not completely sure that it is a product many "average" farm owners would want, or not, but I'm still going to experiment with it and show people how it can be created and used.

I've played around with this before using my 3DR Solo, but the fundamental problem was that the GoPro Hero 4 Black that it uses has a pretty severe fish-eye effect. That is a problem when stitching the photos together to make the end product. The pictures came out pretty bad.

Now, I have the Autel Evo and the camera on this drone is worlds better for this.

Using Autel Evo's Mission Planner on their app, I mapped out my property and took took the pictures. Mission planner lays out a grid and the drone goes back and forth taking pictures. My eleven acres took about 17 minutes to complete in the air.

Then, I fired up Hugin, imported the pictures and started processing. Even with my state-of-the-art ThingPad P52, this has taken all afternoon and into the evening - so far.

It's still processing...

So basically, at this point, an eleven acre property takes all day to shoot and process. Clearly, that isn't going to cut it, but I'm betting there are ways to optimized the process much more.



Posted from my blog with SteemPress : https://flying-higher.com/stitching-photos-to-make-property-maps/
Sort:  

Congratulations @flyinghigher! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You distributed more than 5000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 6000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Congratulations @flyinghigher! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemitBoard Ranking update - A better rich list comparator
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Congratulations @flyinghigher! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You distributed more than 7000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 8000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board And compare to others on the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Whale - Make it spray and get your badge!
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!