You miss 100% of the Axe throws you don't take! - Some Viking (Probably)

Here's a little slice of evening motivation. 🪓

img_0.24253806192766816.jpg

Last one was thrown with a Marine Corps "KILL!" and a step and ankle pivot for extra torque! 💪

Who knew MCMAP (Marine Corps Martial Arts Program of which I am a green belt) techniques would apply to this? 😅

Should this be a new workout for my Actifit?

Hopefully they have axe throwing as a drop down activity option. I'm gonna take a wild guess they may not have one for my hitting a tractor tire with a sledge hammer activity. 😛


In addition to this, I also did some pull-ups today to failure. Used to be able to crank out 25 max reps but today was struggling with 7. Keep in mind I had my work clothes on so a bit more weight than normal. My sets were as follows:

  • 7
  • 4
  • 4
  • 4
  • 1 and a half
  • Fail
  • Fail

Don't think I let myself off easy with the failed reps. I made it a point to at least try and hold myself up with elbows at least a 90 degree angle. This was a bit of a light session as I was ready to head home from the office so was in a bit of a hurry.

All and all, it feels good to be working in getting fit again. I should be seeing my doc next week and hoping to be good on my labs. Been having issues w BP so understand it's important to focus on diet and exercise.

Remember, hypertension is the silent killer so don't play around with it. If they prescribe meds, so be it. I have a genetic predisposition to it so not gonna be sore to have to take a pill. Just the way it is.

Thanks for stopping by ✌️

Sort:  

A step with a ankle pivot you say, hum, trying to picture that, is that a combo move. Two years of Karate, jump kick, side kick, back kick and round kick and my ankle never pivoted for any of them thank God. It actually sounds painful.

I think I meant pivoting on the ball of my foot but not really sure. I remember one of the points being to flare the ankle out as we strike but the rotation would be on the ball of the foot.

But I'm not sure tbh. I'm not a biologist. 😏

I guess a side kick stance you could use the bottom back of your foot to strike, that's the position I think you meant if you took your back leg and stepped forward while sideways crossing the other foot but instead of bringing the foot up to kick you bring the foot down and threw your ax forward, that makes a lot of sense....and less painful sounding lol.

Yeah so with MCMAP the ankle flare was actually with the rear foot so now that I think about it my method was a bit different. In retrospect, I should have stepped with the opposite leg and torqued with the other for maximum effect.

I mean the twist probably helped despite the error and my having Ehlers Danlos hyper mobility probably helped my not feeling pain from it. 😉

Confident my next set of throws is going to be even better! Thanks, @sunlit7!

I've been out of the loop for so long I may remember what to do but if I can still accomplish it is a whole different matter. I opt for two options now. One is carrying bear spray. You can buy small containers of it at a sporting goods store like Cabela's. No more pit bulls giving my pup and me a scare, probably work wonders on warding off offenders if I ever had to. The other is when confronted, and this actually works rather well because I've had to do it once or twice before. Stand your ground, go sideways into a stance mode, arms in defensive position and just look like you are going to rip ass. When retreating just let out a sigh of relief or a big whew. Works wonders.

Raise the toes back and flare out the ball of the foot to strike. Which would/could depending upon if you need to pivot to strike your opponent would lead you to be on the ball of your other foot.

Congratulations @anthonyadavisii! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You received more than 70000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 75000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

NFT for Peace - Feedback and new city
Our Hive Power Delegations to the March PUM Winners
Feedback from the April 1st Hive Power Up Day