Long weekend things - Mostly baking

in #baking4 years ago

image.png

Its a long weekend here and to celebrate I'm baking. The weather is very wet so there isn't anything better to do.

So far I've made cookie dough for the week (I like to keep it in the fridge for fresh cookies when wanted. This helps limit the total amount of cookies eaten), a couple loaves of bread, a triple batch of pizza dough (enough for 6 10-12" pizzas) and the cinnamon buns are resting.

Not around here much lately

With the fall out from #covid19 still hitting where I live and my main line of work, I have been spending most of my time in business development for my main company, continuing to develop my #noloafingmoney projects and family.

This doesn't leave a lot of entertainment time for online fun.

Time is a precious thing

In April we really put a clamp down on spending to give us as much runway with our savings as possible. This meant a serious cut to all convenience food. We limit takeout to 1x a month now, so every meal takes a bit more time.

My days have changed a lot, I get up with the pre-schooler in the morning and make them breakfast and me coffee. While they eat I clean the kitchen and get ready for the day. Then my partner gets up with the baby and we have a coffee before I head to the studio for the morning.

I work on the things I mentioned above til noon-ish and make lunch, then back into the studio till about 5pm and back to the kitchen to help with supper. By 8pm the pre-schooler is in bed and we have a bit of adult time before heading to bed at 9:30.

Then we repeat.

Is change coming?

I hope so, the business development is starting to pay off and my main business is starting to get moving again. My side projects are still a ways from revenue producing, but there is promise there too.

Worse case I get a job, but I'm giving myself August before starting to look in earnest. I have a unique set of skills that larger companies are interested in, so if it comes to that, I'm sure I will land on my feet.