Althea Talk #011: Benefits of the Omija Berry

in #beauty6 years ago

Dear Steemians,

One of the biggest issues for me on being an entrepreneur is that you really need to learn how to juggle a tough schedule as well as make sure you are healthy. While I was at TMON, my health took a turn for the worse as I opted for quick and easy solutions of fast food delivery. Add stress to your workload and that just becomes a recipe for a bad liver.

Holistic Healing
I took a trip to an Eastern medicine practitioner. Some people say that Eastern medicine is voodoo, but I like to keep my options open. I like to compare and visualize the two different practices of medicine like this in my head: Western medicine uses external forces to remedy the situation, whereas Eastern medicine stimulates the body to make it heal itself. I like to think that both are valid attempts at healing the body. Anyways, he recommended that I drink a lot of omija tea, which is how I got to know more about the berry.

Omija Berry
In Korean, omija literally stands for five flavors, which refers to the flavors of sweetness, sourness, bitterness, saltiness, and pungency. What I have done was to take dried omija berries and “cold brew” the tea, fancy terminology for just putting dried omija berries into a bottle of lukewarm water, which I just leave out (closed) for a day. The infused water will look pink afterward.

Health Benefits
Apparently, there are a ton of health benefits that come from this super berry! Mine was to help with blood circulation and improve the function of the liver. Here is a list I found on the web regarding the list of benefits (you can read the whole article here).

  1. Enhance the immune system
  2. As a powerful antioxidant
  3. Treat respiratory ailments
  4. Improves respiratory system functioning
  5. For anti-aging and longevity
  6. Treat sore throats, colds, and coughs
  7. Treat insomnia and night sweats
  8. Treat mental and physical exhaustion
  9. Relieve stress
  10. Treat depression
  11. Increase circulation
  12. Treat high blood pressure
  13. Lower cholesterol
  14. Treat asthma
  15. Enhance vision and hearing

Pretty cool, eh? My initial thoughts are that it’s drinkable and not too bad. The only fault I have with this drink is that it leaves somewhat of a dryness in my mouth so that it craves more fluids, which is kind of weird, right? Well, if it’s going to make better my health, I’ll go for it!

Have a great day!
Chris

Latest Index File

Image Sources:
https://www.idoori.com/blog/cold-brewed-omija-berry-and-its-benefits

Sort:  

The picture attracted me to the post.... It's nice...

Thank you!

This helps the mind and eyes to work better. Omija are an impeccable detoxification sustenance that help with expelling unforgiving poisons and keeping up the condition of your liver. Omija battles pressure and advances resistance.

Yea ... it really seems like it has a lot going for it. Is it called omija over there as well?

I hope you Stay with Us ...

I would love to try Omija some day. Anything can help to relieve my stress is worth to try for. Where can I find this in Korea?

Posted using Partiko iOS

I think it's actually pretty common in Korea. You could probably find it at any grocery store.