Beer, beer, beer, beer, and more beer. ~ #beer

in #beer3 years ago

Did I mention this post was going to be about beer?


source

My one and only male server, Chris, mentioned to me that his fiancee was heading down South to good ole Decorah, Iowa, and that she was swinging by Toppling Goliath and wanted to know if I wanted anything?

ummmm, obviously, yes. yes. Here's 60 dollars. Take my money.

If you've never had anything from Toppling Goliath, you don't know what you're missing. Probably my favorite brewery overall, even though some other beers would be at my top.

60 bucks was a lot of money for the amount of beer I was getting. But it's damn good beer, and sometimes I'm willing to shell out a little bit for a premium product.

So what did I end up getting???

A 32 Oz growler of Dragon Fandango

image.png
source

Join the dragon in a dance to celebrate this unique kettle sour, blended with dragon fruit, mango and passion fruit puree. Named Dragon due to the use of Dragon Fruit, and Fandango after the dance of South America where Dragon Fruit originates from. Dragon Fandango is both fruity and tart with a dry finish. Raise a glass, dance the Fandango and celebrate the magic of these tropical fruits.
Kettle Sour:
4% ABV • 15 IBU
Featured ingredients:
Citra hop, dragon fruit, passion fruit and mango
source

Seeing as 3 out of the 4 beers I got were growlers, I have only opened 2 cans of the other beer I got, which was Pompeii. I've had it before and it's one of my favorite IPA's ever.

image.png
source

Named after Pompeii which was famous for not only the volcano that destroyed it, but the amazing mosaics on the walls of the ruins. This IPA is created with the same attention to detail as the beautiful mosaics that graced the city of Pompeii. It features mango and pineapple hop flavors with a medium-body feel to tantalize the senses.
India Pale Ale:
5.8% ABV • 50 IBU
Featured Hops:
Mosaic
source

32 Oz Fire Skulls & Money

image.png
source

Inspired by a trip to the West Coast, this brew was designed to capture the wild spirit of adventure and brewed to be enjoyed with friends. It’s a rich IPA for those with wanderlust in their heart and fire in their eyes. Join our Citra, Mosaic, Galaxy, and Nelson Hops on a journey to the bottom of your glass.
India Pale Ale:
7.2% ABV • 50 IBU
featured Hops:
Citra, Mosaic, Galaxy, and Nelson
source

I'm realllllyyyyy excited to try this one. But whenever I buy growlers, I try and make sure to drink it all in that sitting. Not becasue I'm looking to get bombed or anything. I just feel like the beer loses so much of its flavor and essence a day later, or 2. So I try and wait for the right opportunities to drink the growlers, where as with the cans I can open a single one whenever I want.

My last beer from Toppling Goliath was

ZEELANDER

image.png
source

Known for breathtaking views, New Zealand is also home to Nelson Sauvin hops which create a delightfully earthy, floral & crisp grapfruit flavor with aromas of citrus & mandarin oranges. Zeelander is a celebreation of the land that grows such dynamic hops.
India pale ale:
6.2% ABV • 30 IBU
Featured Hops:
Nelson Sauvin
source

Another IPA. What can I say, I'm one of those IPA beer snobs. But hey!, I started this post with a sour, so don't @ me. I've loved almost every grapefruit-y flavored IPA I've ever tried, so I am looking forward to this one for sure.

By now you're thinking I should have just titled this post TOPPLING GOLIATH BEER REVIEW! BUT NO!

I GIVE YOU....

ANTARCTICA!!!

IMG_9943.jpg

Absolutely nothing to write home about. But seeing as this specific can of Antarctica that I am holding had been sitting in a beer cooler in Sao Paolo, Brazil just 48 hours ago, I'd say that's kinda cool.

My best bud Piter was down there visiting his family, I told him he had to bring me one back. I first visited Brazil when I was 16 and this was one of the first beers I remember having in my young life. Takes me back to a special place and time, nostalgia to the max.

Not the greatest beer in the world, but more nostalgia than anything. And he brought me two!, lol.

Thanks for reading.

Have you had any of these beers before?! Hmu in the comments!

Sort:  

I haven't tried them before, but I'm sure my favorite would be the Dragon Fandango because of the fruit combination

That fruit combo definitely has me licking my chops. Along with the Citra hops, which are some of my favorite, I can't wait to try this one!

This one is a sour, have you had a sour beer before?

Oh yes, they are usually refreshing, very good

The only Toppling Goliath !BEER I’ve had is their Pseudo Sue. Haven’t tried Dragon Fandango but over the past few years I’ve had a growing interest in sour beers, will have to look for it. Thanks for the tip!

Pseduo Sue is what got me hooked on TG. Back when I was living in Robbinsdale, I made buddy buddy with the Hyvee liquor store manager, he set aside a four pack of special release of the Pseudo Sue for me, those things sell out as fast as they hit the shelves. I will be forever grateful to that man, lol. I'll lyk for sure what I think of the DF!

A tasty looking, well rounded selection of brewskies you've presented! @intothewild

I'm always down for trying some new flavors of beer & occasionally blowing my low carb diet cause you know life is too short and quarantinelife sucks.

Btw I bookmarked your post for reference when we do our next beer run!

Cheers! 🍺💪🍺

Thanks so much @ninahaskin! Glad you liked it!

Three IPA's, which so far have all been really different from each other, one sour, and a Brazilian lager. I would agree that it's a good variety.

I wish you a lot of luck in finding these beers, anywhere....I don't think I've ever seen Antarctica anywhere before, except in Brazil.

And I'm not too sure how much TG ships out nationally. I know I've seen their Pompeii a few times before, but it sells out so damn fast.

I hope you can find some though, lmk if you do!!

I’m more of a G&T kinda girl, but I can appreciate the enthusiasm. ☺️

It's the piney-ness in gin that I just can't get over. And it's a damn shame because I love the popular gin bottles, I think they look so cool. Tanqueray looks kind of like a grenade. Bombay reminds me of an old stained glass window church. Hendricks reminds me of the prohibition days, just get that gin in the bottle and go baby!

Thanks for swinging by @zo3d! And keep up all your great activity here, you're doing really well :)

Cool! I appreciate the encouragement.

Looks like quite the haul. I am not a fan of IPA's, but there are a few that I enjoy. Good thing he didn't get stopped at the boarder for bootlegging :) Also good thing he wasn't trying to take any of that New Glarus stuff out of Wisconsin. I hear they are pretty territorial about that stuff.

I don't think there are any laws regulating private orders, like this one. But funny that you know about New Glarus.

My GM was just over in Hudson and at that liquor store they have NG right in front, a heaping pile of cases, priced conveniently about 20% higher than liquor stores 5 minutes down the road, lol. That's what happens when you're on the border, you can charge much more for convenience.

As to commercial sales of NG in MN....there was a bar in Maple Grove that was running to Sconsin, loading up with NG kegs and selling draft beer from their bar, in Maple Grove. Yeah, that's a no-no. They even had the audacity to have a NG tap handle!!! It shouldn't be a surprise that they totally got busted and ended up paying some big fines. I like their effort, but some things just aren't worth the risk.

I was able to have some of the Two Sisters I think it was a while back and if I remember right it was pretty good. Nothing that changed my world though. That is funny about the bar. Yeah, at least throw a Schlitz handle on there or something!


Hey @intothewild, here is a little bit of BEER from @preparedwombat for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.