Beer Saturday - Home town brew and busking

in #beer4 years ago

I hope everyone has had/is having a good weekend. It has been a really wet one for us with a proper storm this afternoon that caused some local floods. Yesterday I was in Hitchin with some friends for a spot of busking. It was not raining much then, but we did have some shelter provided by the council.

Busking
We were playing various old tunes from the 1920s to 1950s. There was a very drunk guy who kept standing right in front of us saying we were really talented. He requested some Ed Sheeran, but that is not the sort of thing we play. There were a fair few people listening and we made a few pounds that we donated to charity.

Tonight I am having one of several beers I picked up in the Co-op. They were on special offer. This one is from Charles Wells who have been brewing in my home town of Bedford for nearly 150 years.

Bottle
This is just a 330ml bottle, but that is fine for a drink at home. The label design is playing on the hipster trend.

Back
It is fairly strong at 5.2%.

Drink
Not too much of a head on it. The taste is distinctly hoppy. Definitely not the sort of bland beer you can forget you are drinking.

I am drinking my beer whilst watching the video stream from @atomcollector that is about the Rising Star Hive game. The show features music from the community and game card giveaways.

I am making progress with the game and may get to try to enter the third zone this week.

I got tempted to try another game at Cryptobrewmaster. This is all about brewing beer. You have to do tasks to get the ingredients and then brew the beer. It is another case of clicking things now and then, but some of these tasks take hours, so it is not so vital to be at the computer all the time. I am still finding my way with it, but it looks like you can upgrade your brewery at some point and there are other aspects to unlock. I am not sure if it is connected with #BeerSaturday by @detlev, but it ought to be. Rising Star has a missing where you can win Beer tokens. I have been giving more of those away lately.

Taking part in #BeerSaturday with a post about beer can win you prizes.

Cheers!

Sort:  

Hey @steevc

great to see you performing again and thanks for joining the #BeerSaturday again.
Here is a !BEER from me to you.

Great to see you in that band Sir Steve.
Looks like you guys had a good time there (except for the drunk) lol

It was fun, but we do need to practice more. We have been getting together in a garden to play.

Ha, practise is what it's all about Sir Steve.
You should try to post some sound of one of your performances.
It should be interesting also to hear how that violin combines with the guitars.

There is a brief clip on Facebook of the busking.

More videos on Youtube from our garden sessions. Bit windy on some of those. Our pianist couldn't make it for busking.

Ah, yes man, that sounds great and I am sure that you guys are having a lot of fun.
Thank you for the sound clip!

Gotta love those drunk fans huh? It looks like you had a great time. I can't do the really hoppy beers. They just aren't appealing to me. Taste too much like pine needles.

I guess performers need to learn to cope with awkward audiences. We got through it.

Looks like some fun was had busking. I haven't done a beer Saturday post in so long. I miss them. I haven't really been drinking anything worth writing about either though.

WTG on getting close to level 3 already on Rising Star. I've been getting some great cards, but have an Ego problem I'm trying to straighten out. Been stuck on singing and piano lessons, so I don't have to ditch the fan cards!

Cheers!

I've not done many beer posts recently, but then I haven't been drinking too much.

Up to level 72 on RSG now with potential ego issues. I did get the Pop Diva card, which is nice, but then I got another Range Rover that adds fans, but no skill. You can put them on the market at a silly price to reduce the ego until you build the skill up. I will probably just do lessons overnight. I can do drum lessons now.

I'm stuck on piano and singing lessons. Got that headbanger card that put me over 1000 fans, hence the ego problems.

I've not got the headbanger. That's a cool one to have. Doing another drum lesson now as I'm on the brink with ego. Probably need a few lessons over the coming days.

For a moment there I forgot about the lockdown. Thanks for that, cheers

We did keep our distance from people, but the drunk didn't seem to know about that.

Oh, you're a real busker, nice! I hope you got lots of starbits. 😊

Well this is only my second time busking, but it's fun.

He requested some Ed Sheeran, but that is not the sort of thing we play.

You're the one holding the guitar, it would have been down to you!

Well some people will take requests. We were using chord sheets and there's limits to what songs we all know.

!BEER


Hey @steevc, here is a little bit of BEER from @detlev for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.


Hey @steevc, here is a little bit of BEER from @rynow for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.