#BeerSaturday - One Slice to Yule them All - 11% Imperial Stout (Brewed by Santa?)

in #beersaturday4 years ago

I know it's a bit early for celebrating Christmas, but when you're offered an Imperial Stout that tastes of Christmas pudding I think you'd have to be pretty Scrooge-like to cry out "Humbug!"

image.png
Pic source

To be honest I'm not a fan of your traditional Christmas pudding but when I was offered a sample of its liquid cousin I had to accept. The guy behind the bar has come to expect my arrival on a Friday evening and it turns out we share a love for high-strength beers and stouts, especially when they satisfy our sweet tooths.

On this occasion, I'd barely began to say hello when he interrupted me with a sample glass and said "you have to try this!" So, I ceased with the pleasantries and snatched the tumbler from his hand. After sticking my snout in the glass and inhaling a giant whiff of the dark liquid inside I looked back up to my bartender to see him grinning like a parent watching their child open the "big present" on Christmas day. What an aroma! It was like snorting Santa' ashes from the buttocks of a sexy Christmas elf.

When you can taste a Stout through the nose you instantly know two things. 1st thing is that it's going to be alcoholically strong and the second thing is that it's going to be packed with flavour. So it was no surprise when I gulped down this Christmassy brew that I reciprocated my bartenders' grin. "My god! That is fan-Crimbo-tastic! Pour me some more right away, my good friend!"

crimbobeer.jpg

The Brandy. The Icing. The raisins. The thickness of the treacle. Every characteristic of a Christmas pudding crammed into a single drink! I savoured every last drop while sitting there contemplating how much more I could afford. Because it seems Santa is a bit of a Scrooge himself when it comes to pricing his festive brew, and at £6 for a 1/2-pint I wasn't about to take home the barrel I was dreaming of. In the end, I settled for another 1/2-pint to take home with a promise of seeking out an online store where I could buy some cans at a much-reduced price..."Bartender! pour me a take-out and I'll be seeing you next Friday"

IMG_2165.jpg

After a quick search, I actually found an online store selling 440ml cans for just £5.50, but shortly after putting an order through I received a message saying my order had been cancelled due to being out-of-stock :( At the point, I still haven't found anywhere that isn't displaying the dreaded "out-of-stock" label, but my search will continue!

For anyone else wishing to join my quest for this scarce and scattered stout, you'll need the following credentials...

Type - Imperial Stout

Name - One Slice to Yule them All

Brewery - Cloudwater, Manchester, UK.

image.png
Pic source


This post was inspired by @detlev and his #beersaturday initiative. To find out more please visit this post

image.png

In-keeping with the tradition of #beersaturday, I would like to nominate @j85063 to write a post about beer with min. 3 pics in any language.

Hope you've all enjoyed reading this post and I wish you all an early festive goodbye! Thanks for dropping in :)

Screenshot_20200327  article61  Google Search.png

Sort:  

Yeah, Santa style 😎 maybe you should warm it up, give it even more aroma and flavor out of it 🍻🍺 !BEER

Well, according to legend the UK is renown for its warm beer :) Think I'll keep this one in the fridge though. Thanks for the beer!

11% what a nice little drink. heheheee

Have a !BEER from me

It's a real beauty! Just need to find somewhere online that stocks the brew. Thanks for popping over, buddy :)

Sounds like it's popular already.

That's the problem with these types of drinks, they don't last long.

You have yourself a very good 'man behind the bar' that's pretty important, maybe more important that finding a good doctor.

lol, yes, and the medicine is much better :)


Hey @article61, here is a little bit of BEER from @seckorama for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.


Hey @article61, here is a little bit of BEER from @rynow for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.


Hey @article61, here is a little bit of BEER from @detlev for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.