Alma Mater Hard Cider

in #beersaturday4 years ago

Fall is in the air and this is my favorite time to enjoy hard cider. I know a lot of people see it as a light refreshing summer drink, but there is nothing better than freshly pressed and fermented apples right off the tree.

I visited Townline Cider a while back and was excited to bring home some cans. I finally decided to break into them as it’s official fall and the timing just felt right.

Alma Mater is a traditional hard cider with a blend of MAC, Greening, and Spartan apples. These apples give flavors reminiscent of tart green apples and days gone by.

3589F776C97E4ED89F001B3859985EE0.jpeg

The appearance is clean and almost clear with a slight yellow hue. There’s loads of light carbonation and no head.

4E92DCEC49E54E838E27B079816BCDC1.jpeg

The aroma is sweet and slightly tart on the nostrils. It’s almost had a cooling effect from the heavy carbonation streams. If I had to sum up the aroma in one word it would be clean. I am always surprised how clean cider is. Beer has so many aromas it can be a jumbled mess, but cider just had that pure apple essence.

20306D0DF1E24CF3B60BDA9949BF6F18.jpeg

The flavor is more tart than I would of thought. It’s definitely sweet, but balanced by the tartness. A lot of ciders are too sweet for my liking, but this was pleasurable.

2DBBEEE4D81248B9B839E123208238A8.jpeg

The mouthfeel is super light due to that carbonation. Along with that sweetness that carries over to a slight sticky feeling this is not a flat drink. Overall, it’s a delicious cider with sweet aromas and a sourly tart taste it’s a perfect drink for welcoming the fall weather.

Cheers,
Cryptictruth

Sort:  

It looks a lot lighter than I would have expected. I need to try and get into some of these hard ciders more. I haven't really tried any of the commercial ones. I just had the stuff that my friend used to make in his still.

That's the best kind of beer/liquor/cider. We had a buddy that used to make some moonshine that he would add cinnamon to. It was like drinking fireball on steroids.

That sounds crazy! My neighbor has a guy bring him half gallons of Everclear from down south and then he makes Apple Pie and sells it. I have a bottle in my fridge he gave me.

I've don't that before I love apple pie moonshine for bonfires. It's like the quintessential fall drink.