Chocolate Rye Hipster Stout

in #beersaturday3 years ago

Odd Side Ales is one of the best breweries in Michigan so it’s a treat when I can get my hands on their beers. It’s even better when I can get my hands on the rare pub only releases! Rye Hipster Stout is a flagship limited release so when I hear about variants that they are releases I’ll do what I have to get it. That may mean driving a few hundred miles if the circumstances are right.

I’ve been lucky to create a relationship with some folks at the brewery though a side business, but have yet made the connect to get these beers mailed to me. I’d love to partner with them because that gold for them and I get free beer!

Sadly I had to drove and pay for this beer, but it’s worth it. Chocolate Rye Hipster Stout is a complex chocolatey treat.

71BD3A41-233D-47FF-8FB0-F738A0B2520C.jpeg

The aroma is heavily with notes of warm chocolate, wheat malt, spicy rye and boozy bourbon. It’s a pretty forward aroma that’s best sold slightly cold, but if it’s too cold you loose some of that complexity.

A1140D4C-ED19-44D8-B6BE-29AA97CB69BB.jpeg

The taste is it’s best part. I love the mixture of vanilla from the bourbon the chocolate and spicy rye combination. It reminds me of a candy but I can tell you exactly what candy that is. It finishes boozy and let’s you know you are drinking a stout with a kick.

400ADE35-011B-4F9F-BD86-F51CB0D11263.jpeg

The mouthfeel is medium bodied with a lower amount of carbonation which makes it cost the mouth. It’s sipping beer you would be in trouble if you chugged it.

7F3ED01B-F2F1-4D8E-A1DE-DE4AAA0D3C05.jpeg

Overall, the beer is worth its weight in gold. It’s flavor, aroma and texture are perfectly crafted.

Sort:  

!BEER

Now that is my kind of beer! I didn't realize that OddSide was from Michigan though. I thought they were out of state. Do they have a tap room you can visit? Awesome stuff. I finally got my hands on a KBS the other day, but I haven't tried it yet. It was just a single bottle that I stole from my brother in law!

They have one of the best tap rooms in the state! There is a coffee shop and you can order food form down the street right to the brewery. KBS is such a solid heavy stout. I love all the bourbon and chocolate its smooth.

What town is oddside in?


Hey @cryptictruth, here is a little bit of BEER from @rynow for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.