Nitro Milk Stout

in #beersaturday4 years ago

Left Hand Brewing Companies’s Nitro Milk Stout is one of those classic beers that you forget about, but when you rediscover it you are reminded just how good it is.

Left Hand pioneered the nitro milk stout in a bottle. For those of you that don’t know most beer is carbonated with CO2. Nitro beers use nitrogen which give them a creamy texture with fat less ‘bubbly’ feeling. It’s easy to do on tap, but bottling and canning nitrogen beers is much harder. Left hand figured it out starting one of my favorite trends.

This milk stout is beautiful. It’s color is dark brown with a lovely foamy and frothy head! To properly pour this beer you have to ‘pour hard’ so just flip the bottle over and let it cascade into the glass as quickly as possible. Don’t worry it won’t foam over like every CO2 beer would.

050734CA8CD94C8E856AA0525E342405.jpeg

The aroma is heavily characterized with notes of roasted coffee, caramel, vanilla, and dark chocolate. There’s a bit of hop, but this beer leans heavy on the malt and coffee side.

46CCC4DCE5004FF6B1F2A2B96D693761.jpeg

This is a rich and creamy beer with notes of roasted coffee. There’s more subtle notes of caramel and chocolate. I was getting a slight bitter toasty flavor that mixes with a slight sweetness that balances all of the flavors perfectly.

E1F8CB10252B4FBAAE9E0B09441FC895.jpeg

My favorite part is the texture which is silky, velvety, and rich. It stays smooth from start to finish with a heavy creamy feeling that’s beautiful.
2185F3C8348D44499DBB36E7F984ACBA.jpeg

All I can say is this beer is delicious! The texture and roasted flavors make this beer what it is. Left Hand will go down as one of the best breweries in the country.

DBF4B4A1B1D04EEFA73594AA4E17DAE8.jpeg

Cheers,

Sort:  

I can't recall ever having a milk stout before. I need to get around to trying one at some point. I know the ones from Rochester are supposed to be pretty good. I really need to expand some of my dark beer options.

I like milk stouts the lactose makes them slightly sweet. Rochester has some good beers. They can be on the sweeter side.

Cool. I didn't know about the nitrogen process. I just thought it was their catchy name for the !BEER. I'm intrigued now. Cheers.

It’s very common in the US for breweries to now add a nitro tap. It’s less common for commercial distribution I can only think of a few beers that can/bottle. I’d recommend the nitro Guinness which is a bit easier to find.


Hey @cryptictruth, here is a little bit of BEER from @johnspalding for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.

#posh proof of share on Twitter:

Curious about the vol of this one... looked at least to be 6%...

You are correct 6% ABV. You don’t notice it at all.