Stratum IPA

in #beersaturday4 years ago

This might be one of the better IPAs I have had. One might even says this is the holy grail of IPAs. Homes brewery hands down is brewing the best IPAs in the state. If it were not for the price $18 for a 4/pack I would say I’ve found my perfect summer beer. On top of that this beer is extremely difficult to find. I had to preorder and pick it up at the brewery which is a significant distance from my house. However, enough of the back story let’s get in the review.

15EC400040B64E11BF4DFFDBA33B5893.jpeg

This beer pour cloudy with a one finger creamy white head. It’s a beautiful yellow/orange that’s renascent of freshly squeezed orange juice. It’s a thicker looking beer so no light passes through glass. This beer also leaves a nice soapy lacing effect that cascades down the glass and you drink it.

117D272C84434A9CBBCA21177EE5A7CF.jpeg

The aroma is beautiful. It’s bright, fragrant and so masterfully crafted. It starts with heavy notes of orange which transitions to acidic grapefruit. It finishes earthy with loads of piney hops. It’s what I want in a IPA. It’s simple, but developed. It’s also most hard to describe the intricacies of the more subtle notes.

D4353841E4374562BA1899667A4782CC.jpeg

The flavor is super juicy. You get that orange, but there more layers to the flavor profile. It’s one orange mixed with pineapple and mango juice so it’s sweet to start. Then you pick up that acidic grapefruits which cuts the sweetness. That’s rounded out with some bitter notes. It’s a pine resin and earthy floral hop mixture that finishes perfectly.

8A448826F7D4432DBD17E35E258EBD1F.jpeg

The medium body holds up will when compared to the aroma and flavor prices. It has a medium carbonation that aids in the drinking experience. There’s a rich creamy mouthfeel that makes you feel like your drinking something substantial. It then finishes with a soft dryness that’s surprisingly refreshing.

F152FFE340EF48E3B268D589EB236657.jpeg

Overall, this is another tasty NEPA from Homes. I wish their beers were more widely distributed and that they would lover their prices a bit. You pay for quality, but sometimes I think it’s a bit pretentious.
191918F2D8A14A6084E540B15A4C6AEA.jpeg

Cheers,
Cryptic

Sort:  

This !BEER looks amazing, pity of the steep price!!

Yeah it’s a bit much, but damn is it good.

That is a great looking NEPIA, great can artwork as well - I immediately know the type of brewery this is - and I get you statement about price - but as you say you pay for quality.

#posh proof of share on Twitter:

Congratulations @cryptictruth! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got more than 3000 replies. Your next target is to reach 3250 replies.

You can view your badges on your board And compare to others on the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @hivebuzz:

The Hive community is in mourning. Farewell @lizziesworld!
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

Hey @cryptictruth, here is a little bit of BEER from @rynow for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.

Dang, $18 for a four pack! Even if I could find it, I would probably pass on this one. I am glad you were able to get your hands on something so epic though! As usual for IPA's, it does have a pretty pour!

My hive earnings need to increase if I keep drinking these beers lol. Yeah the bigger bottle I picked up was like $24ish so it's getting a bit expensive.

I hear you! My whiskey habit is killing me!