Thirty-One Planes - 16

in #beersaturday4 years ago (edited)

We ventured out to our first brewery in months. I was excited to try something fresh. I looked over the menu and their Thirty-One Planes Imperial IPA looked looked like the newest beer on tap. The name itself is a hat-tip to the 31 planes of existence explored in Buddhism, and the idea of getting better with each rebirth. This DIPA is in its 16 revision. With that much fine tuning you know it’s going to be delicious.

B43B1878B35E48D381197C7BDBDE6DF9.jpeg

This beer spends about 30 days in the tanks due to its extensive dry hopping which gives this beer its distinctive aroma, flavor and look.

The appearance is very pleasing. It’s a clear amber that has minimal head. There’s a nice halo with a few lingering bubbles in the middle of the glass. There’s a bit of lacing, but it’s not too crazy.

CDA5A92D454F499BB9051DD673C461AF.jpeg

The aroma is bright and hoppy. I was getting some nice malt, sweet bread and earthy pine and floral hops. It’s a very hop forward beer and that’s because of the dry hopping. The base is a great IPA with all the classic characteristics while the additional processing creates a DIPA that’s straight up aromatic.

31F73C38ECE8422D9833327C0C323EBA.jpeg

The flavor was surprisingly sweet and complex. I was getting way more floral hop and malt sweetness than the aroma lead on too. It was not overly sweet, but it felt like there was honey or something added. I also notice that there was a heavy pine resin flavor lingered.

The mouth feel is smooth and pretty light for a DIPA. It’s a medium body with a medium amount of carbonation. It’s a was thick enough to fill you up. I actually only had this beer while at the brewery. It was a sipping beer which is not always the case with this type of beer.

Sort:  

You certainly know your beer! Very interesting write up and isn't it nice to be out and about at least a little bit.

I know beer, but I’m trying to get the hang of writing about it. I’m a math science guy so English is not my strongest subject.

Never would of guessed, you write beautifully. You made the article very interesting!

Thanks, it’s something that I struggle with so that makes me feel good. It might just be that my fingers move faster than my brain.

Looks like quite a nice !BEER menu!!
Cheers!!

It’s a good one for sure. Thanks for the beer!


Hey @cryptictruth, here is a little bit of BEER from @rynow for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.

I might be the only one who notices this, but I like how far they have the tables away from each other. That is one thing I am really going to enjoy when I finally do go back out to eat... The fact that I won't have to sit on top of the people next to me. Just looking at the beers, this place seems heavily influenced by Belgium!

I really like the spacing they were about 8-10 ft apart. The staff said they actually like the 50% capacity because gave them enough time to adequately service each customer.

Storm Cloud has an interesting history. The brewer and founder was a photographer and noticed that he needed to draw people from traverse city so he differentiated his brewery by focusing on Belgian styles since not to many other breweries were doing it.

Very interesting! It has been so long since I have been to TC. Last time I was there, there were only two breweries downtown. I am sure there are more over there now...

You have to go back. I've kayaked to at least 7 breweries downtown.

I think the only two were North Peak and Mackinaw or Great Lakes. The one on the corner by the popcorn shop.

I know them well. It’s Mackinaw on the corner.

Been forever, but they had a fantastic BBQ meat appetizer when I was there last.

#posh proof of share on Twitter: