Sipping on a brew from the Adelaide Hills

in #beersaturday4 years ago (edited)

Nothing like a lock-down brew or twelve


I’m currently isolating every weekend while not working. It’s actually fine since I’m still doing lots of work on my house.

After all the painting and repairs, I’ve now moved to the garden. And there’s a tonne of work to do there.

Being isolated does make it difficult to find beers for #beersaturday though. Thankfully, I managed to convince my lovely wife to find me some beers from an Adelaide Hills brewery that I have been eager to try out again after a long time of not testing their wares.

This brewery is the Uraidla Brewery. And the reason why I like to keep tabs on how they are going is because I grew up very close to the town of Uraidla, which the brewery is located in and named after.

9184D356D9C24D5393B8A86F824DF0F4.jpeg

The beer that my wife chose for me is their Psychic Mind Unfiltered IPA. I imagine that she simply liked the name which lead her to choose this one above the others.

But I do like a good IPA. So was happy with her choice. And this IPA is 6.7% proof, so should pack a decent punch.

3B36C7C2FE1F4CD085DBC21E3EAA4CB4.jpeg

As soon as I popped the can open I was hit with a strong fruity aroma. Which really took me by surprise. This lead me to expect a really fruit driven beer. But what I experienced was a hoppy and quite bitter tasting brew.

This seemed odd to me. If a beer has strong fruity aromas, you’d typically expect there to be some fruity flavours as well. But there were none. A hoppy and bitter IPA is normally fine. But where’s the fruit on the palate?

When we have a beer with an aroma that doesn’t align with the flavour, we don’t have a particularly good beer unfortunately. But this doesn’t make the beer undrinkable, it’s still perfectly fine. But probably not worth the $7.50 per can that I paid for it.

If I’m honest, after digging up my garden in the sun today, I’m not feeling particularly picky. A good cold beer is all I really need. And if it’s fruity on the nose but not in the mouth then so be it. It’s still cold and refreshing and that’s all that really matters right now.

At least the beer didn’t smell like wet dog.

75F2AA14227F46EF8DC555A6DA95DFEB.jpeg

Sort:  

Sounds to me like they might have dry hopped with something quite fruity maybe a Citra or something like that which would give you the fruity aroma, but then used something a bit more piney for resiny for the bittering hops - it's quite common to get fruit hop aromas combined with no/little bitterness but for it to still be bitter but lose the fruit it unusual.

Hopefully you get a better !BEER next time, cheers!!


Hey @mazzle, here is a little bit of BEER from @rynow for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.