Happy beersaturday with Gelato Pastry Sour?!?

in #beersaturday4 years ago

You thought #beersaturday was all about beers? But my post says Gelato Pastry Sour? What is going on here? How can an ice cream get into a beer contest? I’ll show you how...

j703m1.jpg

This Polish brewery (Funky Fluid) has managed to put an ice cream in a beer body and I was very happy to receive this one as a gift. I love sour beers, I love fruit beers and this combination seemed a very unique funky one.

9kbwnm.jpg

This exact one is a mixture of 3 fruits as you can easily see. Calmanasi, which is a variety of lime, mango and peach. The brewery’s series of gelato beers include a couple of different combinations, like Pineapple & passion fruit, kiwi & pear & lime, pink guava & passion fruit & peach. They all sound like a very tasteful combinations, but I had the opportunity to only have one of them.

dhbb3z.jpg

The label itself is artistic and funky and really prepares you for the taste of the beer. From the first sip you can feel a great amount of fruity juice flavor, and combining it with the lactic sourness it instantly feels like some vitamin C bomb. You can find some reference with effervescent vitamin tablets... But a lot more tasty one! For sure.

The added Lactose brings a lot of balance in the beer, because the lactobacillus fermentation gives quite thin body with a very sour taste. Of course the sourness can be controlled, but the Lactose develops really different level of taste.

The lime is absolutely well pronounced, maybe due to the sourness, while mango and peach bring some deeper taste and aftertaste. I must mention that the Polish brewers added Mandarina Bavaria hops, and this completes the final touch of the beer. In this mixture of flavors I couldn’t notice it when I first smelled the beer, but after knowing it was there, I could easily find it.

jy5y30.jpg

Long lasting head is not typical for sour beers, but the additional Lactose (in my opinion) was the cause this head was quite a long lasting one.

Overall this beer was quite a unique experience and a total difference from everything I was tried to date. If I have the chance to buy some other beer from the gelato collection, I will buy it for sure.

That’s my gelato-beer review, see you soon!

Sort:  

Looks like a great !BEER and sound great too!!
Cheers!!


Hey @mdosev, here is a little bit of BEER from @rynow for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.

Cheers and a !BEER


Hey @mdosev, here is a little bit of BEER from @detlev for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.