#BeerSaturday: Home Brew Beer

in #beersaturday3 years ago

#BeerSaturday: Home Brew Beer

20210322-085309.jpg

Yesterday was a public holiday in South Africa and I decided to spend my time wisely and brew some BEER.

My Ingredients were the following, with the cost, in South African Rand, in brackets. ($1,00 = R14.78)

  • 5kg Pilsner Malt (R163.38)
  • 500g Crystal Malt 120 EBC Belgian (R14.88)
  • 100g Chinook (R89.48)
  • 50g Willamette (R40.48)
  • Yeast: Safale S-04 (Fermentis (R65.55)

20210322-085321.jpg

All the grain is put into a grain bag.

I use 30 liters of water, which is heated to 67 degrees Celsius. The grain bag with grain is then submersed into the water for 90 minutes, where after the grain is removed.

The water is then heated to boiling point. The hops is then added in a staggered fashion, by putting into a small hop bag.

The total boil time is 1 Hour. I first add 50g of the Chinook hops at 15 minutes into the boil.

I then add 50g Chinook and 50g Willamette at 50 minutes into the boil.

20210322-085829.jpg

Below is my grain in the grain bag inside the urn.

20210322-102206.jpg

After the boil is completed, the wart is cooled down to below 26 degrees Celsius, when the yeast is added.

The fermenting process will last for about 2 weeks, where after the BEER can be bottled!! I will end up with about 25 litters of BEER after all is done.

I hope this BEER will turn out great!!

I hope you liked the post as much as I liked writing it!!

I hope you have a wonderful day!!

[

PHC-Footer-05.gif

Sort:  

Well done! Let us know how the final product came out!

!BEER

Thanks for the comment and !BEER
!Wine


Hey @wynella, here is a little bit of BEER from @rynow for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.


Hey @rynow, here is a little bit of BEER from @wynella for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.

This is class @rynow..

I want to give this a go sometime myself. I want to make my own super hoppy IPA. It most be pretty cool to brew your own beer.

Yes, I love to brew !BEER and to experiment with the brewing..

I might ask you for some advise when I finally get around to brewing 👍


Hey @ablaze, here is a little bit of BEER from @rynow for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.

You have shown a way to work efficiently and becoming cost effective, thanks for detailed description on how to go about your brewing.

!BEER


Hey @rynow, here is a little bit of BEER from @joanstewart for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.