#BeerSaturday 211 - How About a Funbox of IPA?

#BeerSaturday is at week 211 and I am in the mood for a box of fun!


zekes-hops.jpg

Source: https://www.pinterest.pt/goldensaintbeer/ with a little Zeke design on top.

I became a beer blogger because of the years I have spent brewing for myself, the breweries I work with now on their technology and marketing, and the decades spent imbibing combine for the self-decreed title of the #Blockchain #Beerologist.

This week, I picked a sampler/promo pack off the shelf, which I normally only do to entertain you. Will this one be different?


image.png

Pint of the Week


IMG_1604.jpg

I sent this picture of the Pint of the Week to Black Swan Brewing https://blackswanbrewing.ca/ because I thought it was a rather good one! Good enough as a local endorsement of their refreshing looking beer enjoyed on a local patio. Meeting beers have to be one of my favourite and we have 2 of those right there. May this IPA mark the start of a long and profitable relationship!


image.png

How About A FUNBOX?!


IMG_1614.jpg

Usually, these variety packs are filled with random beer and I am suckered into buying a couple stinkers just to get at a unique IPA. While I generally skip over many of the Refined Fool Brewing Company https://www.refinedfool.com/ beers, I absolutely HAVE to purchase a whole box made up of different IPAs.

beerologistapproved.png
In fact, having tasted only a couple of these, I am going to award the coveted seal for having the game to assemble 6 different IPAs at once. https://www.refinedfool.com/collections/beer/products/ipa-fun-box-2nd-edition Well done!


image.png

Science


IMG_1616.jpg

I started with the lights, silliest looking one. Science light IPA https://www.refinedfool.com/products/science-light-ipa seemed to be the perfect beverage for sitting on the deck in the afternoon while prepping for a D&D session. I am wondering what they were thinking with this branding besides weird and different. It would be on brand, knowing their other beers, and perhaps the science is attaching a couple things which shouldn't be: Light and IPA.


IMG_1617.jpg

Looks like this well-dressed sheep is interested in the fantasy roleplaying. The beer itself was expectedly light and did have some flavour. Boasting only 3.7% ABV, I was not expecting much. Turns out I was right but it wasn't all bad...maybe along the lines of Sunnyside by GLB https://www.greatlakesbeer.com/Beer/sunnysidesessionipa/ Watery and citrussy and light and refreshing.

image.png

And Then Bernice Flipped the Canasta Table


IMG_1626.jpg

This label has one-off brew written all over it with the strange colours, overdone contrast and the peculiar lady gracing the center. https://www.refinedfool.com/collections/beer/products/bernice-east-coast-dipa is a double east coast IPA with, one would assume, lots going on. She is a granny about to go batshit crazy at card night so I better be careful.

IMG_1627.jpg

Weighing in at a very respectable 8.2% abv, Bernice is indeed a serious mistress. I snuck up on it all curious as it seemed to be hopped heavily with the secondary hops I have seen in double IPAs (Citra, Amarillo and Simcoe.) It really was an adventure in every mouth-full, the only way to properly evaluate the flavour of a bold beer. I did find myself spacing those gulps a good distance apart as it was more tasty than refreshing. All in all, I like Bernice! Maybe as much as some of my favourite imperial and double IPAs. I doubt it will return to shelves individually but I will have to taste it again if it does.


image.png

Van Full of Weirdos


IMG_1624.jpg

I featured Van Full of Weirdos Juicy IPA https://www.refinedfool.com/collections/beer/products/van-full-of-weirdos-juicy-ipa during a Christmas box set from Refined Fool. The retro cartoon branding with vibrant colours and interesting weird people in the vanagon, well, it just works! The fact I have it in my brand new Clutch http://www.pro-rock.com/ mug I just received in the mail! Looking forward to this pint for sure!


IMG_1625.jpg

I am getting the picture that the RF brewmaster really likes his Simcoe hops somehow just remembering this brewery is in Sarnia, Ontario. They left the weirdest dood for the back of the van and packed plenty of smooth but bold flavour into this solid 6.2% Delicious as it was last Christmas.

text16.png

#BEERSaturday!


image.png

Thanks again for this wonderful #hive #beer gift by @spirall on Twitter! Hop in on the marketing push with us and invite the world of beer bloggers to join us on Hive.

It is week 211 (that is right...211 weeks of #beersaturday s on the blockchain!) and you can visit our session here https://hive.blog/hive-187719/@detlev/have-a-beer-and-let-us-know-what-happened-beersaturday-week-211 Make sure you pop by https://friends.beersaturday.com/ and drop a beer in the box to have a shot at being the Beer King and create your very own beer blog so you can be drinking with the cool kids from across the globe.

I invite a friend to the party every week and this week it is a brand new Hive Blogger @stevemed1973. He is drinking from the firehose of content and complexity here and could use a drink and a follow.

Cheers to our global family of beer-drinkers!!

text16.png


zekepicklemanbeerologist.jpg


LL Mends banner.png
JOIN US ON DISCORD
SUBSCRIBE TO THE LIFESTYLE LOUNGE COMMUNITY HERE
JOIN US ON TWITTER


image.png

I am honoured to curate for:

gPCasciUWmF5VZucjWuzmpXUomGMznGBossDDhhbxsv4o487wdZdsb3ASXRMf62sjs1HUwqb5DTZ2Zui3ZaiztAHSSu6S3QkVTp6wDRybhjkQBzs6LKK5dFVjUtX1HiTiYRVNg7aDm8JmQFBDq.png



Do you have combo packs where you are?

Sort:  

That's the best beer I've ever seen.

I will agree with you right there old friend!

I will skip down to your palatial estate one of these days and we will have a few together .

If I don't make it up there first 😎

Open Invitation!

I am saving my Pimp tokens up so we can have a real night on the town.

#beersaturday #beersunday #beermonday ... same fucking thing as long as there's !BEER involved

beerologistapproved.png


The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the person sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken.


Hey @zekepickleman, here is a little bit of BEER from @davedickeyyall for you. Enjoy it!

Do you want to win SOME BEER together with your friends and draw the BEERKING.