#BeerSaturday - Couple Beers for a Rainy Day!

#BeerSaturday is at week 209 and I have some Haze, England and Mango to share with y 'all.


zekes-hops.jpg

Source: https://www.pinterest.pt/goldensaintbeer/ with a little Zeke design on top.

I became a beer blogger because of the years I have spent brewing for myself, the breweries I work with now on their technology and marketing, and the decades spent imbibing combine for the self-decreed title of the #Blockchain #Beerologist.

This week, I get outside for a Pint of the Week, and get back to sample a couple beers from breweries I have not enjoyed in a while.


image.png

Pint of the Week


image.png

The Shorty of the Week will likely be back next #beersaturday as I have a nice limited run NEIPA living in the back of the fridge. So, it is back with the pint of the week again as out-door dining and beering have been opened again after the latest lockdown.

It was a rainy day in Picklemanville as only patio dining was permitted. "Hey guys! Mind if we shoot your photo to use on social media so that others join you for a beer?" We masked up and obliged. An hour later, all of the tables were filled and we had the prime one to conduct out business meeting! @sequentialvibe and I are enjoying a Heritage Hops 21 Haze East Coast IPA https://heritagehopsbrew.com/products/21-haze-east-coast-ipa and our buddy Hugh is more than happy with his Love is Love Light Lager https://heritagehopsbrew.com/products/love-is-love-light-lager

Like in the social media post, a little rain can stop the beer and we said SUCK IT to the weather for this pint of the week.


image.png

English IPA!


IMG_1544.jpg

First up, I am rediscovering Hespeler Brewing Company https://hespelerbrewing.com/ which I cannot recall being overly impressed by thus far. In fairness, I can only recall one sample of an IPA from a while ago and you really should take the time to discover the sweet spot of each brewery. I am not too excited for the plain branding or particular at boldly proclaiming your brewery has only been going 5 years but they have a hockey stick on the lable so we can give them a pass.

IMG_1545.jpg

My sweet spot happens to be IPA and I am intrigued at the hybrid English IPA label. My guess is a bit more malt than an IPA and a bit more hops than an English Pale Ale but we will see. The description on the website "Traditional English Style...Smooth malt character balanced by fresh cedar and floral hop flavor with a striking copper color. Not overly bitter, the rich mouthfeel finishes with a slight biscuit sweetness."

The malt was rather well done balanced quite nicely with the hops which were dryer than expected in a good way. The biscuit sweetness is anything but slight and takes a few sips to move it from almost syrupy to just plain sweet. A nice change to the standard IPA and I am glad I had a chance to taste this one.


image.png

Mango Passionfruit Bullshit!


IMG_1442.jpg

Hopcity Brewing Company https://www.hopcity.com/ was one of the first few regional craft breweries responsible for breaking me free of north American and European mega breweries. Barking Squirrel was malty and tasty and solid. Their IPA was good 'til there were dozens of craft IPAs on the scene. Still, this is one of the OG craft breweries and I didn't hesitate to snag a couple of these off the shelf.


IMG_1443.jpg

Mango Passionfruit IPA https://www.hopcity.com/beers/misfit-mango-passionfruit-ipa/ looks to be up my alley as I am into unfiltered, tropical east coast IPAs. I still think mango is a bullshit fruit and passionfruit is better named than it actually is and you can fruit a bad beer into a drinkable one. Still, this is a tasty beverage! I will have to grab this one again to give it a second try and compare it with some of my favourites.

image.png

#BEERSaturday!


image.png

Thanks again for this wonderful #hive #beer gift by @spirall on Twitter! Hop in on the marketing push with us and invite the world of beer bloggers to join us on Hive.

Can you believe we have survived to #beersaturday week 209 https://hive.blog/hive-187719/@detlev/beersaturday-week-209 ? Make sure you pop by https://friends.beersaturday.com/ and drop a beer in the box to have a shot at being the Beer King and create your very own beer blog so you can be drinking with the cool kids from across the globe.

I invite a friend to the party every week and this week I invite our old friend @old-guy-photos who might just bring us some Dill Pickle Chips to the session!

Cheers to our global family of beer-drinkers!!

text16.png


zekepicklemanbeerologist.jpg


LL Mends banner.png
JOIN US ON DISCORD
SUBSCRIBE TO THE LIFESTYLE LOUNGE COMMUNITY HERE
JOIN US ON TWITTER


image.png

I am honoured to curate for:

gPCasciUWmF5VZucjWuzmpXUomGMznGBossDDhhbxsv4o487wdZdsb3ASXRMf62sjs1HUwqb5DTZ2Zui3ZaiztAHSSu6S3QkVTp6wDRybhjkQBzs6LKK5dFVjUtX1HiTiYRVNg7aDm8JmQFBDq.png



What beers are you scoping out for the summer?

Sort:  

Hey @zekepickleman, here is a little bit of BEER from @rynow for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.