#BEERSATURDAY - New and newly redone

What kind of #beer adventure can you get into during the lull between summer ending and the release of autumn seasonal beers? Apparently, there is no lull in this region!


zekes-hops.jpg

Source: https://www.pinterest.pt/goldensaintbeer/ with a little Zeke design on top.

Summer is generally a time for the eternal search for excellent Session IPAs which boast a lower alcohol content but plenty of hop character and stronger taste than a normal pale ale. It is more of a challenge to brew this way because of the process involved in keeping the sugars from turning into the alcohol. So, thrilling session beers are a little more rare.

So, you can imagine my delight at discovering new beers well before the autumn brewing season, and rediscovering past beer with new jackets on.

Let's take a look at my discoveries this week for #beersaturday!


image.png

A New one from Big Rig!


IMG_9878.jpg

Long-time followers might recall past blogs highlighting Big Rig Brewery https://bigrigbrew.com/brewery/our-beers/ out of our nation's capital. I regularly buy Alpha Bomb IPA though it has been a while. This one has similar branding which made it jump off the shelf at me from past tastings. The bold green and cartoon hop images make this look as tasty as the last one but you may be annoyed at the strained neck from turning your head sideways to read the damn label.


IMG_9879.jpg

When I read "Galaxy and Citra" as the hops on a beer I have never tasted, I usually grab 2 of them right away. This time, I only added one to my haul as I didn't discover they were present until visiting the website to research for this blog. The website is apparently experiencing some issues when you try and visit the pages highlighting individual beers but you can see the whole awesome list and snippets in the link above.

I suppose this is not a Session IPA but I find APAs (American IPAs) to be close to the same category with the smoother taste, more reserved north american hops varieties and lower than 6% ABV. This one did not disappoint and boasted a hazy IPA texture and pleasantly bold taste that I love with Galazy and Citra hops.

I wish I had purchased 2 of these now so I can go back and evaluate it based on its own merit and not its representation of the style. I will buy this again!

beerologistapproved.png


image.png

More Cowbell


IMG_9874.jpg

I KNOW that you have been talking like Gary Oldman whenever I review my recent infatuation with Cowbell Brewing https://cowbellbrewing.com/beer which is about 45 minutes down the road. I could avoid the running gag no longer as I discovered another new beer on the shelf this week. It isn't a Session or American pale ale but it is a hybrid between IPA and a Sour. Generally speaking, many of my fellow beer nerds are all in on Sour Beers but I simply like to taste them all as an alternative to blasting my palette solely with hops. I really wish Cowbell would invest more in the maintenance of their webpage as this one is not even listed.


IMG_9875.jpg

The colours on the label are a bit of a graphic designer's bane but a vibrant and contrasting presentation on the shelf is a forgivable trend. I will have to admit I have never heard of these hops or knew what to expect except assuming the sour would blast the hop character to the back of the tongue.

This is a legit beer. If I was one to fill my fridge with sours, this would be one I revisited because of the nice strong flavour, and the beautiful fruity haze. As it is, I am glad to have sampled it and will definitely link the blog to my sour fanatic compadres so they can discover it if they have not already. Definitely sour, raspberry and debatably IPA, this was a nice pause from the norm for me.


image.png

Nickelbrook Back from Orbit


IMG_4796.jpg

Nickelbrook Brewery https://nickelbrook.com/has been one of my favourite breweries for many years and brewed the beer that has been in my coveted top 10 all along the way in Headstock IPA https://nickelbrook.com/collections/beer/products/headstock-ipa IT has been hard to find locally for some reason and I have to ask my sources whether it is because it is old news or supply chain issues. Though it has been bumped down the list because of the lack of availability, I still love it and pick it up when I see it.

Back on topic drunky! Here is what Lost in Orbit used to look like in 2018.


IMG_9891.jpg

Well this is what it looks like now! A brand new label design that has equal parts cool font and solid/entertaining illustration. I gotta see how this tastes!


IMG_9892.jpg

While it boasts the identical 4.5% abv, it curiously has transformed from a session IPA to a Hazy IPA! It pours nice and hazy for sure but smells like what I recall from a couple years ago so I am a little confused. I trust these guys so lets get into it. Citra and a couple east coast IPA hops AND Vermont Ale yeast so I am optimistic.


IMG_9893.jpg

I definitely appreciate the 3-panel label usage (main label, brewer's elements section AND a nice story relaying the intended story behind the brew) Oats and Wheat make for a little more complex body and a beer that will slide down your throat and this definitely does that.

Maybe I am just jonesing for a Headstock IPA and distracted by the prospect of this being a hazy IPA rather than the session ale I could take or leave in 2018. This tasted like a decent IPA with 25% water added to it. In my opinion, vastly superior to a plain lager or ale but so lacking when compared to session IPAs with a personality of their own and not deserving of the Hazy IPA classification with which I have become so enamored lately.

Perhaps it is expectations vs reality with this one but I expected more from one of my top 5 IPA breweries, a new identity and the Hazy IPA classification. I am glad I have had a chance to sample this revision which is too much like the last one. I would offer this to someone like @davedickeyyall who loves his lawnmower beer.

blockchainbeerologist1.png

#BEERSaturday!


image.png

I was gifted this wonderful #hive #beer by @spirall on Twitter! Join the Hive push with us.

I have had hundreds of beers with my #BEERSATURDAY crew. It is week 172 and there is no end in sight for the blockchain beer enthusiasts who rally every week! https://hive.blog/hive-187719/@detlev/171-weeks-of-beersaturday-yeah-now-we-get-your-story is your link to the longest-running beer-drinking club on any blockchain. Take some pictures, tell some pub tales, and become a Beerologist by posting your own suddsy story with @detlev and yours truly.

text16.png


zekepicklemanbeerologist.jpg

I am honoured to curate for:

gPCasciUWmF5VZucjWuzmpXUomGMznGBossDDhhbxsv4o487wdZdsb3ASXRMf62sjs1HUwqb5DTZ2Zui3ZaiztAHSSu6S3QkVTp6wDRybhjkQBzs6LKK5dFVjUtX1HiTiYRVNg7aDm8JmQFBDq.png



What new beers are you sampling?

Sort:  

Hive !BEER is here....

Hive beer is the best and you are the blockchain version of that dood that says “ziggazaggaziggazagga-hoyhoyHOY!” at Oktoberfest.

I've never been a "beer drinker" per se. If I went to a party, and all they had was beer, I drank beer.
If I went to a bar and I was worried about driving, or didn't have much money, I drank beer.
So you can imagine I am lost with all the new terminologies, "IPA's", "session IPA, Hazy IPA" I don't know what to make of all that.
I was dry for about 10 yrs, but now have begun imbibing a little here and there once more. Probably a big mistake, but I'm 65, the world is going to hell in a handbasket, so why not?
Post upvoted and reblogged Zeke, @zekepickleman
image.png

Ah thanks old friend.

Beer for me was boring and best when cheap for decades. Now, I prefer not to drink 8 in a sitting and would rather a beer that tastes like 4. Hence, ipa.

Here is one for you

!BEER

Sorry, not makes sense.
But it's okay


Hey @jerrytsuseer, here is a little bit of BEER from @zekepickleman for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.

Getting better and better, all the beers are interesting but this last HIVE really cuts 😎👏🍻 !BEER

So great to hang with you every week at the #beersaturday blockchain pub!!

!BEER

I have been scoping out lawnmower beers in case you bring the black blockchain bus up this way for a visit.

hello dear friend @zekepickleman good afternoon
I really admire your knowledge of beer. you are very talented in writing your tasting report. Congratulations
I take this opportunity to wish you a wonderful night and salute dear friend

Oh man that is high praise coming from you!

I try not to get too deep and preachy about fruit forward, hints of elderberry and the other impressions I get personally because I know everyone’s palette is different.

I would rather phrase it like pub talk with buddies and I am glad to call you one.

!BEER

Thank you very much dear friend @zekepickleman
It is a real honor for me that you consider me a friend.
Those are the things that attracts me to Hive, meeting people like you and that we can strike up a friendship despite the distance. Although this is only for the body, because we can be united through the mind and the spirit.
have a wonderful night and a happy rest


Hey @jlufer, here is a little bit of BEER from @zekepickleman for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.

What an excellent collection of hoppy beers.

Yes they were interesting. Though much less hoppy than last weeks #beeraaturday post where I went all over the best of the IPAs.

Thanks for reading, sharing a beer and taking the time to share your thoughts!

!BEER


Hey @harveyword, here is a little bit of BEER from @zekepickleman for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.


Hey @zekepickleman, here is a little bit of BEER from @detlev for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.


Hey @zekepickleman, here is a little bit of BEER from @seckorama for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.


Hey @zekepickleman, here is a little bit of BEER from @davedickeyyall for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.