#BeerSaturday: The Gift of Beer-Part 2

Beer really is the gift that keeps on giving. I reviewed one of my gift pack last week am back with another for this week!


zekes-hops.jpg

Source: https://www.pinterest.pt/goldensaintbeer/ with a little Zeke design on top.

I do enjoy seasonal variety packs of beer and especially getting beer for Christmas. Tasting a variety of styles from a single brewery really gives you a better idea of their style rather than simply judging them from their IPA as I have been known to do. What I usually find is a combination of surprises, styles I normally don't get to enjoy often, and some neat playground beers often not available away from the brewery.

Today, we visit a few selections from a brewery whose product I have reviewed a few times already.


image.png

image.png


IMG_0548.jpg

Today we are taking a trip up the Ottawa River to visit a brewery https://whitewaterbeer.ca/ which launched long 10 years ago. 3 adventurous hosers directed their passion into the brewery with the intent of harnessing the natural resources and converting it into sweet flowing beer for the community which brought them home after travelling the globe.


IMG_0549.jpg

I have not counted Whitewater on my list of preferred breweries in the past as I was not particularly fond of their IPA because of my insane hops disability. Nothing wrong with being obsessed with IPA or not specializing in brewing it. Now I get to taste some of the other varieties and discover a little more of their other styles.

This gift pack doesn't have a name like the other ones and is rather plainly packaged so it doesn't exactly jump out at you. Still it is a classic style and the plain cardboard look should be a little less expensive to produce and easier to recycle. Let's get to the beer!


image.png

Farmers Daughter


image.png

I will have to come clean right off the bat and tell you I didn't even have this beer https://www.shopwhitewater.ca/product/farmer-s-daughter/147 You will know that 22 IBUs and "NOT TOO HOPPY" almost immediately disqualifies this beer from grabbing my attention. I have had this in the past though and as clean and clear as it managed to be, it was too plain and simple for my palate.

The reason I didn't drink it was because I knew of someone who might enjoy it more than I would have. I brought it over and shared it with they guy across the street while we watched the hockey game over the holidays. He generally drinks plain lagers and ales and he thought it was simply delicious. There you have it!

image.png

Sour Cranberry


IMG_0571.jpg

Wild Bog Cranberry Sour https://www.shopwhitewater.ca/product/wild-bog/158 was one I wanted to get out of the way early on as I am not a fan of cranberry, and I am a little picky when it comes to sours I really like. Still, you should never judge a sour by its label and locally sourced fruit in beer is something I am all for. At least it is practically unhopped (so bad taste can't hide behind hops) and 6% ABV so it shouldn't be wimpy!


IMG_0572.jpg

I was probably my own worst enemy when first sampling this as I was prepared for a berry I love to hate. IT definitely had that first bitter blast of cranberry but it wasn't syrupy like some fruit beer tends to be. Once I got over my affliction, I discovered this is a serious sour. I settled into a nice rhythm of unhurried smaller sips and this beer really did it for me. I am admittedly not a sour connoisseur but I really enjoy those which pack a punch to the mouth without having to crush them. Kinda like a sniff of scotch instead of shooting a whole shot glass......a little is all you need for big taste.

I will have to keep an eye out for one of their next sours if it is free of that cursed berry.


image.png

Sour Sun Stands Still


IMG_0556.jpg

Next up is Jacked Rabbit Espresso IPA and I can't find mention of it at https://www.shopwhitewater.ca/ so it must have been a very limited run? Hoppy and Bitter is right up my alley and I am a fan of coffee but that is a strange combination. I like strange and new though to lets see if is as good as either can be.


IMG_0557.jpg

While I can appreciate its strength and adventurousness, I am afraid this was not my favourite of the pack. It lists as 90 IBU which is on the high end of the IBU scale but the darker malt and coffee seemed to be ganging up on the IPA personality. I definitely don't hate this and it is possible that my sensibilities are not ready for an espresso IPA just yet but I would only buy this again as a challenge to myself to make sure it was not for me.


image.png

What's Shakin'?


IMG_0559.jpg

Peanut Butter Shake PB Stout https://www.shopwhitewater.ca/product/peanut-butter-shake/287 was the one that piqued the curiosity of my little one who couldn't believe there was such thing as a peanut butter beer. I couldn't really believe it and was not sure how this one would go. Again, a strange knuckle ball of a beer that often happens in these gift packs.


IMG_0560.jpg

The second panel on the label turned out to be a neat shot as the ingredients include lactose sugar, wheat & oats, and honest to goodness peanut extract. It is topped with the Ontario Craft Brewers seal, a frosty big logo, and some peanut butter-covered hops for this nutty beer. Great depth when you pause to really look.


IMG_0561.jpg

Whitewater designers make great use of the label real estate as they squeeze a third portion which boasts a well-done and concise description the likes I have not seen often. Peanut butter and chocolate and cream and caramel?! Sounds good but is the beer?

Yes it is. It is light when you may expect thick or even sludgy because of the peanuts. It was simply a fantastic dark ale with extra sweetness and smooth texture that was as well-rounded as it was sweet.

beerologistapproved.png

Out of the lot, this one surprisingly gets the hallowed seal. This beer is indeed seasonal so I cannot throw one into my basket on a regular basis but I might have otherwise.

Well done Whitewater. No hard feelings!

#BEERSaturday!


image.png

Thanks again for this wonderful #hive #beer gift by @spirall on Twitter! Join the Hive push with us.

Can you believe I have these #BeerSaturday ale addicts have been gathering every weekend for the past 186 weeks?! https://hive.blog/hive-187719/@detlev/beersaturday-week-186 is your link to meet some of the characters, hear some tasty tales, tell some suddsy pub tales of your own and perhaps become a Beerologist yourself.

I invite a friend to the party every week and this week it is @cryptospa who I can say I knew when we were just starting out on this blockchain. Check him out now as he has achieved world-wide fame as a technical analyst and @leo-finance celebrity.

Cheers DOODS!

text16.png


zekepicklemanbeerologist.jpg

I am honoured to curate for:

gPCasciUWmF5VZucjWuzmpXUomGMznGBossDDhhbxsv4o487wdZdsb3ASXRMf62sjs1HUwqb5DTZ2Zui3ZaiztAHSSu6S3QkVTp6wDRybhjkQBzs6LKK5dFVjUtX1HiTiYRVNg7aDm8JmQFBDq.png



Surely SOMEONE will take the time to engage and post a pic of the beer gift they received this year!!

Sort:  

Cheers! This peanut butter-ish beer just intrigued me, I would taste it with a slice of bread. 🍻 😎


Hey @seckorama, here is a little bit of BEER from @zekepickleman for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.

Cheers dood! Thank you for inviting me to the party!
What I have to do actually?

Whatever you like!

Meet some new people, have a beer, post about a beer in your region? No rules.

Looks like a reasonable selection of beer, this sorts of packs can open you up to style you wouldn't have otherwise bought