#BeerSaturday week 270 - The Lighter Side


zHops1s.jpg

Beer blogging came naturally to me due to years spent brewing for myself, working with breweries on their technology & marketing, and the decades spent imbibing. Hence, the self-decreed title of the #Blockchain #Beerologist and I have cranked up my Beerology game this year as breweries are back in full swing.

This week, I am finishing off the the IPA Fun Box and comparing lighter beers for hoppy taste.

 "image.png"

Shorty of the Week


IMG_5309.jpg

There have been a few Pints of the Week with all the goings on but I figured I would flip back to the shorty in the fridge. What is better than seeing a little can of limited edition beer or a nice little pint when a big pint would be a gulp too much? I love my shorties and grab ones by Leftfield Brewery https://www.leftfieldbrewery.ca/ in Toronto where I just spent the weekend.

IMG_5310.jpg

Greenwood IPA https://fanshop.leftfieldbrewery.ca/products/greenwood-4-pack has to be as yummy as all of the other ones I have and it is rare to never have experienced a stinker from a brewery. They always deliver and Greenwood, with its unfiltered Simcoe, Citra and Centennial hops, is another fantastic shorty.

 "image.png"

IPA Fun Box Rides Again


IMG_5098.jpg

Those who shared a pint in the pub last week will remember that I cracked open the 4th edition of the
IPA Fun Box to share https://www.refinedfool.com/collections/beer/products/ipa-fun-box-4th-edition The old favourites and a couple new ones were pretty good but I had a hazy session to tackle!

 "image.png"

Catstronaut!


IMG_5134.jpg

Another badly-drawn label illustration based on a pretty poor play on words, once again nothing to do with the actual beer "🐈 Catstronaut — 4.5% Session Hazy IPA: An easy-drinking golden-hazed beauty. Dominated by citrus and tropical notes, it’s smooth-bodied and well balanced." Why the hell you would call that catstronaut I may never now but sounds like a pretty good summer beer. Rather photogenic too with no filter and the iphone camera depth of field doing the background magic.

IMG_5135.jpg

With a fail on the label and a winner in the can, you can mail it in for the rest of the label on a one-off brew. The beer was as tasty as it was light which is a pleasant surprise so I am cool with flipping your brewery motto sideways and reinforcing it on the side label.

Hazy IPAs are all the rage but this lighter one is worth buying for someone who is sneaking up on IPAs, or you wanna have a beer after mowing the lawn without having to take a nap.

 "image.png"

Devil's Punchbowl


IMG_5045.jpg

Next up we have Clifford Brewing https://sonsofkent.com/ which I know I have tasted before. I can't remember which beer it was, or anything special about the brewery so I checked in online to check. While I appreciate breweries going with the straight 'buy online' configuration for their online setup, I would highly recommend telling a story on the history of the brewery or at least what makes it special. Being in Chatham Ont. is not really that special so lets get to the beer.

IMG_5046.jpg

I do recall having Devil's Punchbowl in the past as it is a well done contrast explosion of a label, and a neat name for an aggressively hopped beer. Session may be a contradiction in terms but I am in the market for these lighter beers in the summer as long as they are tasty. It is apparently not even available on the online store https://sonsofkent.com/collections/beer but I did see Juice Box and 8-track which were decent. As for this beer, I would buy this for a regatta or a weekend where I decided I would read a book on a hammock. Tasty enough that I don't hate it, and light enough for a little session as advertised.

 "image.png"

#BEERSaturday!


299783379_10166582149075164_3007063566764642283_n.jpg

As much as I am NOT a fan of Wilco https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Wilco this is pretty damn funny and I get it. Warm up your liver and join @detlev and the gang at https://hive.blog/hive-187719/@detlev/two-seven-o-weeks-of-the-beersaturday-chalenge-week-270 for this week's #beersaturday post. Grab a pint and join in the fun with a beer story of your own. Don't forget to stack !BEER tokens so that you can get rich and play the Beer King games every week here https://friends.beersaturday.com/hive One day I will be the BEER KING!

This week of #BeerSaturday, I like to invite my new friend @apunawu as making footwear is thirsty business! Write a post about beer with min 3 pics in any language.

Cheers to our global family of beer-drinkers!!

 "text16.png"
 "zekepicklemanbeerologist.jpg"
 "LL Mends banner.png" JOIN US ON DISCORD SUBSCRIBE TO THE LIFESTYLE LOUNGE COMMUNITY HERE JOIN US ON TWITTER
 "image.png"

I am honoured to curate for:

 "gPCasciUWmF5VZucjWuzmpXUomGMznGBossDDhhbxsv4o487wdZdsb3ASXRMf62sjs1HUwqb5DTZ2Zui3ZaiztAHSSu6S3QkVTp6wDRybhjkQBzs6LKK5dFVjUtX1HiTiYRVNg7aDm8JmQFBDq.png"

Do you like the lighter beers?

Sort:  

Catstronaut can is NOT a fail. I think it looks great.. definitely a stupid name but I like the can

Yah there are so many goddamn craft breweries, each with bush league design and branding capabilities, that the shelves are filled with nonsensical beer themes. So this is the norm.

The beer itself was good enough for a light one and I would shnarf one on a nice hot summer day anytime.


Hey @zekepickleman, here is a little bit of BEER from @davedickeyyall for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.

Cheers! I don't know about the content but these cans look fantastic! But I have no reason to disbelieve your assessment and recommendations. I will keep them in sight. !BEER

Haha us blockchain beerologists have eachothers backs!

!BEER


Hey @seckorama, here is a little bit of BEER from @zekepickleman for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.

!BEER


Hey @zekepickleman, here is a little bit of BEER from @rynow for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.


Hey @zekepickleman, here is a little bit of BEER from @seckorama for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.