#BeerSaturday week 292 -What Week is it?!?


zHops1.jpg

If it feels like months since your last Zeke's Sweet Hops, that's because it has been! Being a creature of habit, I got out of the habit of daily content creation in the summer with vacations, adventures and running a business that never sleeps. So, I am hopefully BACK and will start with a #beersaturday post.

Beer blogging came naturally to me due to years spent brewing for myself, working with breweries on their technology & marketing, and the decades spent imbibing. Hence, the self-decreed title of the #Blockchain #Beerologist doing my best to consume, report and even brew to do that title justice.

This week, I am relaunching the Hops with a trip to a fantastic regional brewery.

 "image.png"

Cowbell Brewing!


IMG_8556.jpg

I have visited Cowbell Brewing https://cowbellbrewing.com/ a few times and even showcased them in a couple blogs in the past. They are approx. 45 minutes from home, in the wrong direction to anywhere, but I had taxi duty in the area and it would be rude not to pay a visit. Besides the new ownership from a couple years ago, I was curious to see whether anything else had changed.

 "image.png"

Can I Start You With A Drink?


IMG_6283.jpg

Fits the bill so let's see what you have! The expected draft lineup, some new ciders and seltzers, drinks, wine, cocktails and dessert! We are just getting started so I better stick with the draft beer which drew me here. A couple new brew and some old favourites from which to choose.

IMG_6284.jpg

After some careful consideration, I opted for the beer I have probably had the most rather than a new one. When all was considered, I remembered that there was nothing new and thrilling, and Hazy Days https://cowbellbrewing.com/products/473ml-hazy-days-hazy-juicy-ipa-beer-x-24 is among my top 10 regional IPAs. Besides that, it doesn't get any better than straight from the keg which was brewed 10 meters away. Delicious as expected!
 "image.png"

Light Snack?


IMG_6286.jpg

Let's take a look at the menu and see if anything jumps out at us. Appetizers, bowls and pizzas all do go great with beer.

IMG_6285.jpg

Another page of slightly redundant categories (burgers are handhelds and this is all pretty much comfort food) and some pretty compelling candidates to help soak up some suds.

69671142944__DF6235E6-203B-448B-AFD8-BB68802F7E8D.jpg

I was torn between one of 2 options and I love to use this opportunity for the opinion of the servers. James was fun company and gave some pretty solid advice.

 "image.png"

And the winner is...


IMG_6290.jpg

In the end, I went for the Coney Island Dog as we are only a couple hours from the border near Detroit, where some of the best Coneys are found. $18 may seem a little steep for a hot dog but it is only Canadian dollars, you can see they go the extra mile with the toppings, and the neat little basket of fries is a nice touch. Tasty dog and great companion for the hazy IPA.
 "image.png"


IMG_6293.jpg

Of course I made my way to the bottle shop for some sodas for the fridge at home. I was a little disappointed to hear that the Growler section is a victim of Covid and there were no one-off, available only at the brewery bottles to bring home. Still, the new ciders would be a nice treat for my better half and I think I see a new IPA in there!

 "image.png"

Time to Hit the Road


IMG_6294.jpg

After my quick visit, I jumped on the winter roads which were still clear before the expected snowstorm. Cargo in tow and happy to be visiting an old friend again.

I will have to leave you on a dramatic cliffhanger as to which pints I brought home with me so tune in next week and see if I have gotten back into my weekly installment of Zeke's Sweet Hops.

 "image.png"

#BEERSaturday!


beerlife.jpg

January sure was a long year ;) ! Warm up your liver and join @detlev and I at https://hive.blog/hive-187719/@detlev/bs-week-292 for this week's #beersaturday post. Grab a pint and join in the fun with a beer story of your own.

This week of #BeerSaturday, I would like to invite one of my newest friends @go-kyo who is from Japan and leverages joy and profit out of @splinterlands and @actifit! Check her out and chug a Kirin!

Cheers to our global family of beer-drinkers!!

 "text16.png"
 "zekepicklemanbeerologist.jpg"
 "LL Mends banner.png" JOIN US ON DISCORD SUBSCRIBE TO THE LIFESTYLE LOUNGE COMMUNITY HERE JOIN US ON TWITTER
 "image.png"

I am honoured to curate for:

 "gPCasciUWmF5VZucjWuzmpXUomGMznGBossDDhhbxsv4o487wdZdsb3ASXRMf62sjs1HUwqb5DTZ2Zui3ZaiztAHSSu6S3QkVTp6wDRybhjkQBzs6LKK5dFVjUtX1HiTiYRVNg7aDm8JmQFBDq.png"

My old #beersaturday drinkin' buddies still around?

Sort:  

Long time no post ... nice to see you here.

So good to be back and reconnect with Blockchain friends!

Thanks for the welcome back.

Great to see you back posting Zeke!
The hot dog sounds tasty but so does the spinach dip.
Getting advice from the staff, now that can be a sensible thing, and of course now wondering what pints you took home!

I found this post by browsing Threads. Learn more about threads.

I will have to fill you in this week coming up. Funny thing is the spinach dip was my other choice presented to James and he recommended the coney.

Either would have been good and I will have to try it next time.

Well I see this place sure has a good collection of beer and for the guy who wrote this post ...
The pie chart says it all.
Cheers ! to you beer mate. Lets do a bottoms up before you do your next #beersaturday post
I found this post by browsing Threads. Learn more about threads.

Beers and well met! Bottoms up!

 last year (edited) 

That was an awesome combo you later settled for. Its hard to make a choice in situations like this... but we gotta choose... we gotta eat... we gotta drink some #beer

I found this post by browsing Threads. Learn more about threads.

Absolutely. Not a very difficult decision when there are many good choices and it comes with beer no matter what! 🍻

looks like a great saturday to me

I found this post by browsing Threads. Learn more about threads.

I think all saturdays a great when they are #beersaturday

Cheers! When you talk about beer, I'm all ears. This one looks very good. 🍻

I am all mouth when it is beer time 👄 🍺

So true 😎
Dog What GIF by Best Friends Animal Society

Looks like a great time out.

I found this post by browsing Threads. Learn more about threads.

Seeing lots of that threads browsing upon my return. I will have to check it out. Cheers!

Welcome back and a very good post as usual. Snacks and beer are a great mix !

I appreciate the reception! Snacks and beer are best when shared with friends on the blockchain.

Welcome back!

Booyah lets get high y'all!

Really cool post. Nothing like a good beer to go with comfort food, and cold weather. It's really nice that you also have craft beers available in your area. There isn't much craft beer available in the Philippines. So I'm a bit bummed about that when I get back.

We have snow and cow fields and breweries for sure. Not sure I would prefer that to the fantastic beaches and lifestyle of the Philippines in the dead of winter here.

Trade for a bit?

Haha sorry but I'll have to pass on that. I've been to San Francisco where the temperature was always under 18 celsius, and I'm not comfortable with it. I like the warm weather, so imagining living in a colder area is not really enticing. I do love your healthcare and nice people though.

Hey Zeke! Cowbell Brewing is right up my alley! That food looks so delicious! I am really a bit jealous (and hungry)
That stash of beer cans in the fridge! Now I am thirsty too! Thanks for sharing this!
I am working on a new format and I would like to ask you if you are up for recording a discord interview? How can I reach out to you?

!BEER
I found this post by browsing Threads. Learn more about threads.

Well hey!

I appreciate the engagement and would love to help. Which Hive discord servers are you on?

Oh many of them. Mostly the games :) Here is my discord: solymi#2979
Thanks a lot for the quick response!
!BEER


Hey @zekepickleman, here is a little bit of BEER from @solymi for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.

Glad to read your post! Thanks for inviting me to BeerSaturday. The snowy road looks very cold. Please drive safely😀

Actually, I am not a beer drinker, but I like the photos of beer and foods because they look so delicious. It makes me want to drink it even though I can't drink, it's funny. My husband is a pretty heavy drinker, so maybe I'll try it with him next time... I would like to introduce Japanese beer on BeerSaturday🍻

Yes!
I spent some time in Osaka and Kyoto. I know you guys have good beer there!

Welcome.

Welcome back. I missed your upbeat-ness.

I don't drink beer except in breweries. Why does beer taste so much better on the premises it was produced? I love this place's name and logo!

18 bucks for a hot dog?!!! The best hot dog in the town where I now live is @2.25. It's pretty bad though. Glad you enjoyed yours.

Yes I will splurge at a brewery because the beer is so fresh and hasn't bounced down the road a hundred KM so it tastes better. $18 hotdog is a little much but as an occasional treat and good content for a rewarding blog, I will make and exception!

Good to be back.


The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the people( @zekepickleman ) sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.


Hey @zekepickleman, here is a little bit of BEER from @solymi for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.

Congratulations @zekepickleman! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You distributed more than 26000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 27000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Check out our last posts:

Our Hive Power Delegations to the January PUM Winners
Feedback from the February Hive Power Up Day
Hive Power Up Month Challenge - January 2023 Winners List
The Hive Gamification Proposal
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

Its a nice place for beer lovers for sure and you shared some cool photos too.
I found this post by browsing Threads. Learn more about threads.

It's good to hear from you again. I thought you may have gotten stuck in a snow bank or something.
It looks like a cool place for a cold one and a hotdog, although with the size of the dog it may take several beers to wash it down.
Let's hope winter will be checking out soon and we can start gardening again.untitled.gif
Your pie chart looks like a lot more fun than this one.

Hell yah my dood! There is a distinct possibility of getting caught in that snowbank.

IMG_6152.jpg

I would have washed the dog down with more than 1 but the road called and I can't have my legions of followers thinking I drink and drive!

Great to be back among friends.

That's a lot of snow. For sure with drinking no driving.

Some of my friends would love to visit this place as they love beer!
I found this post by browsing Threads. Learn more about threads.