You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Harvesting Mason Bee cocoons

in #bees4 years ago (edited)

I could just leave them alone and let them emerge naturally. But the Bees will have to crawl through Mite infested cells before emerging. Clinging on the Bees when they have Mites it effects them badly. So by me opening up the Bamboo tubes and removing them from the Mites I can make sure it's less of an issue.

Yes I would put them by their future homes when they emerge. The Bee boards I'm building should be suitable for this Spring. And cleaning them is much easier than the Bamboo homes I had to deal with. They are solitary Bees so they dont have colony hives. They all work independently.

Thanks alot for the comment and tokens.

Oh okay I'll look into the #talentclub tag.

Sort:  

whats the goal for the solitary bees? do they collect honey? I suppose they are good pollinator ? So you must have lots of flowers around your area?

what if you use paper straws instead of bamboo.. wont that be easier to harvest?

They do not make honey but they do collect alot of pollen. If I can successfully collect some of that pollen then its good for eating and dealing with seasonal allergies. Otherwise they make excellent pollinators so its good for all the plants within 100 yards that they travel to.

Yeah alot of people do the straw method, but I have built bee boards for next season. So it should be alot easier next time around for sure.