Sort:  

Sounds bad. I suggest you transfer all your stake to alts and delegate your stake to your main account. Without a master key there is no possibility of account recovery. If your missing master key ends up in malicious hands you could lose absolutely everything you have here. If you follow my advice, you'll keep your stake because you can simply undelegate it. Because of your reputation and network, starting a new account shouldn't be too difficult because you're able to prove you are you by posting new photographs of the same unique subjects you have already posted photographs of. All the malicious actor could do is try to damage your reputation by trolling.

Yeah I had a similar scare a while back... and now because I was forced to change my password once again I'm having similar anxiety. What if my backup is wrong? What if I messed it up?

Luckily I didn't have to abandon my account, but if you can't find the master you are definitely asking for trouble. Perhaps it's time @wombatprepared took over. I can create the account for you right now if you like... it's open.

Thanks, but I found it. It was in a text file on an old laptop that I haven’t used for a couple of years, must have still been using it when I first signed up.

Printed out two hard copies. Put one in the fireproof lockbox in the basement and the other one somewhere else.

glad to hear it worked out.