Friday Afternoon Walk at the Danube in Linz

Today after work I directly headed to the River wetlands of the #Danube here in Linz for some #birdphotography. Since I barely have the chance to go "birding" during the week because when I stop working the sun is already short before setting, I really enjoy Fridays when I can stop earlier and of course the weekends. For tomorrow, I have already planned a nice trip here in Upper Austria and I will get up early, so I already need to hurry to go to bed today. But writing some lines here on #Hive is already a tradition for me that I only seldom want to miss.

Although I was at the Danube, I didn't find any interesting birds swimming in the water, so I had to concentrate on the birds that were sitting on trees and in the #bushes. Lucky that there are not many leaves on the trees, so it is still easy to spot different birds sitting or climbing trees. There was a Great spotted #woodpecker climbing a tree nearby, and I took several pictures of it.

DSC_5416.jpg
Great Spotted Woodpecker. Picture: Florian Glechner.

Camera usedNikon D500
Lens usedSigma 150-600 mm lens
Filter usednone
Exposure Time1/3200 Seconds
Aperture usedF6.3
Focal Length600 mm
Time04:49 pm
ISO1600

I also found a #yellowhammer sitting on a branch, I took some pictures and tried to even get closer and to a better position where I could get a clear shot on the #bird, but unfortunately it flew away. I already learned to take some pictures before getting the perfect position and angle, because a lot of birds already flew away from their position while I tried to adjust my position for a better view, and then I was a little disappointed to not even get a shot. So now I try to get a shot and then adjust my position to get even a better shot, sometimes this is possible but in a lot of the times the birds fly away.

DSC_5315.jpg
Yellowhammer on a branch. Picture: Florian Glechner.

Camera usedNikon D500
Lens usedSigma 150-600 mm lens
Filter usednone
Exposure Time1/3200 Seconds
Aperture usedF6.3
Focal Length600 mm
Time04:49 pm
ISO1600

DSC_5401.jpg
Long-tailed tit hiding in the trees. Picture: Florian Glechner.

Camera usedNikon D500
Lens usedSigma 150-600 mm lens
Filter usednone
Exposure Time1/3200 Seconds
Aperture usedF6.3
Focal Length600 mm
Time04:49 pm
ISO1600

The next bird I found today was a #Long-tailed-tit, which I think is a pretty beautiful bird, but very fast and difficult to get a nice picture of. They always jump/fly around and try to hide in the bushes. When the bushes don't have leaves like today, because it is still winter they still hide and jump around very fast so it is not so easy to get a clear shot.

Another bird I met today was the #Common-starling, It was sitting on the top of a tree and observing the surroundings. Unfortunately the tree it sat on was pretty high, so this is the closest I could get with 600 Zoom and cropping of the Image. I have already taken better pictures of this bird.
A #blue-tit also managed to cross my way and although I have already a lot of pictures from this little fellow I pressed the shutter button for some pictures.

DSC_5328.jpg
Common Starling. Picture: Florian Glechner.

Camera usedNikon D500
Lens usedSigma 150-600 mm lens
Filter usednone
Exposure Time1/3200 Seconds
Aperture usedF6.3
Focal Length600 mm
Time04:49 pm
ISO1600

DSC_5335.jpg
Blue tit on a tree. Picture: Florian Glehcner.

Camera usedNikon D500
Lens usedSigma 150-600 mm lens
Filter usednone
Exposure Time1/3200 Seconds
Aperture usedF6.3
Focal Length600 mm
Time04:49 pm
ISO1600
Sort:  

Today you found beautiful birds and, although some flew away, you took beautiful photographs. Thank you for sharing these beautiful birds.♥️

haha, i am a bit blessed with a lot of bird pictures that I already made in the past and where the situation has been a bit different. Better position, closer, no branches and leaves in the way. So I was lucky to see so many different birds today for the pictures I hope I can gets some better ones next time. I am already looking forward to tomorrow when i visit a different area here in Upper Austria.

These are some beautiful shots of birds, especially the yellowhammer. Some of the names are the ones I've never come across before. I am saving the names so I can look them up for some painting inspiration.

Painting, wow I wish I could paint. But I am so bad at it. My mother on the other hand is a very good painter.

Great pictures!

Thank you @ratel. I wish I had more pictures where I am on the same level as the bird but since they almost always sit on trees, it is not possible. That's why I love waterbirds, there it is a little easier to be on the same hight level as the bird.