Wildlife : Birdwatching - 738 🐦

in #birdwatching4 years ago


DSC_3018-1.jpg

The great tit (Parus major)

I already talked about a mixed bird flock here. Why does it consist of these birds? Why, for example, are there no goldfinches?
I personally observed the answer in the autumn in the forest. It's about the characters of the birds. Paridae - social birds, despite their strict hierarchy. Although they remain aloof, they interact with other species. It’s hard to survive alone.
So, I walked past one place in the forest and saw that the birds were eating something there. At first there were great tits. But this did not go unnoticed by goldfinches, which it is clear where they came from.
By the way, see these thorns in the photo? I repeatedly pierced my fingers with them and cut myself,


DSC_3017-1.jpg

The European goldfinch or simply the goldfinch (Carduelis carduelis)

Goldfinches saw a feast of tits, just insolently drove them away, did not share. They are incredibly unfriendly to other bird families. It's funny, according to my observations, they are quite tolerant and friendly only to birds of their family - Carduelis, namely greenfinches, siskins, and redpolls.
There was a case at my feeding trough. Annoying pigeons flew to the feeder, and great tits flew apart, afraid of these big birds. But when a goldfinch sat in the feeder, and as soon as he saw the pigeons fly up, he immediately screamed terribly scaring them. These little brawlers are not afraid of anyone!

o0s3mikf8p.png

)