Good news: I'm not going to eat John McAfee's dick (NSFW)

in #bitcoin4 years ago

Three years ago, /r/Bitcoin was discussing what we'd do if Bitcoin went to $100,000. Someone noted that John McAfee had pledged to consume his own penis if Bitcoin didn't hit $500K in 3 years, so we should go for that dollar price. I countered with my own solemn pledge:

If Bitcoin hits $500K, I will eat John McAfee's dick.

The whole thread on Reddit is funny. It was a happy time for Bitcoiners, and the big price explosion was yet to come.


eat dick.png

Anyway, since it was generally taken as a prediction for 3 years in that thread, I consider myself discharged of this duty. The current BTC price on @coingecko is USD 10,722.15.

I hope I don't have to explain who John McAfee is. This is the tough meat I'd have to put my teeth into, from his Twitter account:


McAfee mask.jpg

I wasn't just being negative about BTC - I've also recommended buying it under $1000 in January 2017, and under $5000 during the March 2020 dip. (Actually, I was joking with hodlonaut, who repeatedly declared "We will never see Bitcoin below $10K again".)

Other Bitcoin news: more than 18.5 million bitcoin have been mined.

To be fair, while McAfee's bet was weird, other Bitcoiners have made stranger predictions. François Pouliot expected that $100,000 transaction fees would be possible in a far distant future, while over half of all electricity produced in the world would be used to mine those transactions.


tx fees.jpg

Jimmy Song even predicted that people would start using BTC block numbers to refer to the past. (Obviously, block times are too unpredictable use them for planning the future.) Do you remember what you did around block 600,000?


block numbers.jpg

McAfee himself, who celebrated his 75th birthday this month, extended his prediction to the end of 2020, and doubled it to a price of $1 million. You can watch a countdown on dickening.com.