April Fool's Joke nearly makes me dump all my BTC

in #bitcoin4 years ago

https://www.financemagnates.com/wp-content/uploads/2020/04/Craig-bitcoin.jpg

In an article in a little known site called (https://www.financemagnates.com/cryptocurrency/news/craig-wright-victorious-in-kleiman-case-after-signing-with-satoshis-key/) which google prominently displayed on my tablet. The claim was that Craig Wright had sent money from the very first Bitcoin address to himself.

I jump on the exchange. Gotta get out of BTC before the founder dumps. But wait a minute....

A quick look at block 0, confirms that the address in the article is indeed the first Bitcoin address.

This is would have been the proof I need needed. If Craig Wright can do this then I have to believe him.

At the end you can see by just looking at the address on a block explorer. No coins have never left this address. Still no proof that he is Satoshi, which should be no surprise to most people.

Sort:  

Hi @leprechaun, your post has been manually chosen by Hive Supporter and upvoted with 78%.

Keep up the good work and you'll have a lot of success here on Hive for sure. To find out more about the Hive Supporter project check out this post.

Hilarious.

Honestly I probably would think I was just getting bad data even if I saw that the coins were moved on a block explorer, I'd have to check my own blockchain copy. I just can't imagine that any of these bickering mooks are actually the bona fide Satoshi Nakamoto. If it's a group with multisig, even better. It is significantly more dramatic to imagine Satoshi as a single person though.

It's my personal speculation that Satoshi either never committed to memory or destroyed the private key that controls those genesis coins.