A Conversation With a No Coiner...

in #bitcoin3 years ago

(a hypothetical conversation...)

No Coiner: "I can't believe you don't want to pay taxes. Don't you know that funds the schools? Think of the children!"

Me: "Are you familiar with Peter Gray's book Free to Learn? Do you know what the Prussian Model of education was designed for and how it completely fails to prepare people for our current economy? Most public school systems today destroy a love of learning."

Them: "Not everyone can homeschool. Both parents have to work full time just to get by."

Me: "So you're okay with a state-sponsored daycare that destroys creativity and the joy of learning through free play? Your justification is that your current lifestyle expectations are expensive? You do realize how much of your purchasing power you've lost because of the monetary policies of the government you want me to support, yes? Every second of the day they steal from you via inflation and seigniorage to the tune of trillions of dollars a year."

Them: "Well I know my kids kind of hate school, and they don't seem to learn anything practical or useful, and I know people have been talking about the money and debt problem, but what is a regular person supposed to do? It's not like you can live without using their money."

Me: "You do remember me telling you all about Bitcoin in 2013 when it was less than $100, right?"

Them: "Yeah, but I kept seeing on the news and reading articles by financial people saying how it was a scam and how it was dead."

Me: "Remember how I posted about ‘bitcoin obituaries' keeping track of the hundreds of times mainstream media articles claimed bitcoin had died but yet it's still around today? Look at its performance. You can live very well not using their fiat money."

Them: "Well, yeah, I do wish I had bought some bitcoin when you were taking about it. I'd be rich now."

Me: "No, you wouldn't. You would have sold early for fiat profits becuase you didn't understand the importance and disruptive nature of the technology. You still don't, or you would already own some."

Them: "Yeah, you might be right. Either way, it was just too expensive to put money in a risky speculation."

Me: "If you understood it, you'd understand it's risky to hold anything but cryptocurrency. Also, didn't you go on expensive vacations each year and lease a brand new car?"

Them: "You know how much I hate my job and the terrible commute. I need to enjoy some parts of life, right?"

Me: "Have you ever considered you're living the consequences of a sequence of poor decisions and your life could change today if you could truly face your fears, stop avoiding necessary pain, and just deal with your shit?"

Them: "..."

Me: "Work nights and weekends skilling up for a side gig and then quit your job. Build a business where your income potential is as boundless as the value you can create for others. Only accept crypto for payment so you can also ride the financial wave of the future. Pull your kids out of school and teach them how to be entrepreneurs, build a family business, and finally spend time together. While you're at it, sell the house (or more accurately ditch the mortgage) and go travel the country in an RV like you've always dreamt of doing. Don't just die slowly, but go LIVE!"

Them: "Wow. You're right. Deep down, I know you're right, and I've always known it, I was just too afraid to face it, so I avoided. Amazing. How did we get here from a conversation that started about taxes and schools?"

Me: "We got here because you were indoctrinated by a human farming system which you're unwittingly perpetuating onto your children. You've been trained to believe in a solution that is in fact the very thing enslaving you. The State is not your friend. You will only escape when you stop treating symptoms with more bad decisions. Instead, go right to the root cause, dig it out, and live free. In essence, buy bitcoin."

Sort:  

Hopefully the voices in your head listen this time.

hahahah

People are scared to think for themselves until they are 30 and at that point they will then need another 30years to re-learn it.

The voice is not your friend, the cake is a lie.

I'm just joking.

Me too, except the cake part 🍰.

Been reading your posts frequently, good stuff.

"Good stuff" You're hilarious!

LoL... thanks man.

Exceptional lecture.
Thanks for sharing.

I wish I could interject this conversation directly into the brain of everyone I know, but alas, people I know don’t hear things that don’t coincide with the version of “reality” they believe they’re living in.

Rain in the Heads of people, life is strange

Interesting to call it a human farming system but I totally agree.

"This is the story of your enslavement..."

I love Molyneux.

I triple dog dare you to post this exchange to /r/buttcoin. Lol

seigniorage

Vocabulary 100

As is. Make good decisions, buy BTC and expand your mind, close your ears to cowards and be patient.

Hehe.. I've been holding crypto the whole time but am not rich because I cashed out to fiat, but because sold about 10 BTC for Steem with it was 6-7 bucks. Then I bought a million ENJ coins during the ICO (less than a cent each with bonuses), which I HODLed all the way up till it was worth 50 cents, which gave me those starry lambo eyes. I kept HODLing all the way through 2018 as it dropped... dropped... dropped.. Until they were nearly worthless, just like my Steem. Then I rage sold the ENJ for under a penny each, and bought more Steem.

So you don't have to be a no-coiner to be a dumbass. I turned millions of dollars into 101k hive. And I'm not even a whale. I like to think that I provided the liquidity to make a lot of other crypto folks very wealthy. My contribution to society!

Sometimes it feels like I am in my own special hell. Like I was purposely given the brains to understand all of this, but not enough to make wise decisions.