Hiking Mt. Takao In Japan For Hal Finney

in #bitcoin4 years ago

#RunForHalFin! is a global event to honor Hal Finney, one of the key players in developing bitcoin.

EgfbD4BUYAAK5fk.jpeg

This is the first time I have heard of the event and it'd origins. I came across it on Twitter the other day and thought it would be cool to join. Since I've been back in Japan quarantined I've put on a few pounds and could use some exercise.

Anyway, the person on twitter told me anyone can run anytime, anywhere on September 6th. The run is in memory of Hal Finney and the last half marathon he ran before ALS rendered him incapable.

I will be hiking up Mt. Takao in Japan instead of running and tweeting about it as I go. It should be an interesting time to ponder on bitcoin, where we are and where we are going. Maybe it will get me to sync my full node too. I've had it offline for a few weeks.

Anyway, you can find the original tweet here if you are interested:

If you don't know how important Hal was to bitcoin start at his wiki, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Hal_Finney_(computer_scientist)

then look up his posts on bitcoin.org.

Thanks for reading!