Running Bitcoin

in #bitcoin4 years ago

As of today, I am running a Bitcoin Full Node.

image.png
The download of the whole ledger took around 2 weeks, but since this morning my node is up to date (has processed 627'165 blocks of transaction history).

Hal Finney's legendary tweet:
image.png

The next thing I intend to do is setting up a Lightning Network Node. Are any Bitcoiners here who already have done this?

Have a nice day,
zuerich

Sort:  

Wow 2 Wochen... 😳

Good on you!
I ran a Bitcoin node under Ubuntu for a while but it kept crashing and needing to download the whole chain again.
Maybe I should try again under Windows.

Thanks for your comment.
I first tried on the raspberry pi, but I had some problems with the ethernet connection and with the hard drive.
Now I am running it under windows and it works smoothly. I enjoy the idea of supporting a greater good like Bitcoin.

Congratulations on taking a major step towards your own financial sovereignty! I've ran a few nodes with lightning in both clightning and LND. Right now I'm leaning more towards LND but I'm sure the next update for clightning will bring a lot of feature parity.

Thanks for your comment.
I think I'll try LND. Will have a (more or less) deep dive on it this weekend.

Congratulations!

hast du n Bild? :)

@tipu curate

Das Häkchen rechts unten bedeutet "up to date".
Links daneben zeigt es mir an, dass ich 10 active connections habe.

image.png

The download of the whole ledger took around 2 weeks

Man I haven't imagined that would take that long. Great for you running a full node! How do you feel about halving? What are your thoughts on that?

Yes, I think the long download time relates to my rather poor connection (no fiber optic cable) and to the upload restriction of the other nodes. But I don't know exactly.

I think the halving will have 2 consequences that aren't priced in right now:

  • more media attention --> more people get informed about BTC and its long-term unique selling proposition (fixed supply + security)
  • a smaller amount of BTC will be sold by miners - on a daily basis.

This could attract more (long-term) investors. At a certain point a self-inforcing cycle (virtuous cycle) could set in, with higher price --> more attention --> more buying --> higher price --> more attention (probably of short-term investors) ... until a bubble emerges at insane prices (of perhaps 100k $ or more) and pops. Then we are going to repeat 2014 or 2018 ;-)

Conggratulations👌

Excelente...

wow, congratulations my friend.