You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: 🐳 Have you claimed your Whaleshares STAKE yet?! 🐳 (ends Sept 15th!)

in #bitshares6 years ago
The new Whaleshares site is nice, but I have never seen a more difficult sign-up process. The website was not behaving according to instructions, and and it took me over a month of trying every few days to get in. But, I finally made it there and glad the problems were finally fixed!

So, is the new Whaleshares site on a side-chain of the Steem blockchain, or on a completely different blockchain? Some things I'm seeing make me think it's the former, and some make me think it's the latter.

Your post is very informative as well as entertaining in the way it is written! BRAVO for that! And, that one graphic of the infinity glyph with the calendar symbols on it is brilliant! I see the solstices and equinoxes, the major holidays, climate symbols, all in the proper sequence! It's is incredible! I can tell you are someone to follow! 😊

Sort:  

thanks for the kind words @thekittygirl, and glad you found it helpful! I thought that graphic was terrific too when I came across it. I can't take credit for it though... as that goes to johnhain@pixabay:

https://pixabay.com/en/infinity-emoji-creation-full-2019466/

There was some confusion for people about the claim versus new account process, but things seem to be going pretty smoothly now. for example, some people thought they were in the sharedrop but weren't, and then had to use the "new account" form (which wasn't even originally planned for due to the "bitshares" dynamic).

Also, Whaleshares is not a side-chain, but a STEEM software fork. As such, it is also a completely different (albeit complimentary) blockchain, although it does remain compatible with the STEEM API for development purposes (granted a few minor changes, such as chain_id, asset name, and public key prefix).