A Misunderstood Plant With A Bad Reputation.

in #blog4 years ago

A bad reputation can damage your status just a bit, but if the majority of a population believe in a bad reputation it can be career-destroying and maybe just maybe soul-destroying, what if there was a glimmer of light that took years to slowly shine the light back for you to let the world know you're still standing tall doing your thing no matter what one may say!

good-1123013_640.jpg
Picture Source

Standing buds held high in a field sprawling up to 5 meters tall thriving in average temperature between 16 – 27 °C (60–80 °F) I'm an annual, which some say depending on climate and growing conditions I could have 2-3 growing seasons as my growing time frame is between 70 – 120 days, which my seeds come in varieties of clones, hybrids, GMO's, Organic I still grow wild in the Hymilias, Ukraine may be some other countries also.

I once sprawled over Asia, and many other parts of the world, research has dated me as being used as far back as 10,000 bc – 8,000 bc depending on what resources you find.

From Wikipedia -

|An archeological site in the Oki Islands near Japan contained either ________ from about 8000 BC,
probably signifying use of the plant.[120]

My use archaeologically dates back to the Neolithic Age in China, with fiber imprints found on Yangshao culture pottery dating from the 5th millennium BC.[117][121]

Historian Herodotus (ca. 480 BC) reported that the inhabitants of Scythia would often inhale the vapors of _______ smoke, both as ritual and for their own pleasurable recreation.[122]

Textile expert Elizabeth Wayland Barber summarizes the historical evidence that ________ "grew and was known in the Neolithic period all across the northern latitudes, from Europe (Germany, Switzerland, Austria, Romania, Ukraine) to East Asia (Tibet and China).
Jews living in Palestine in the 2nd century were familiar with the cultivation of _____, as witnessed by a reference to it in the Mishna (Kil'ayim 2:5) as a variety of plant, along with Arum.

In late medieval Germany and Italy, _____ was employed in cooked dishes, as filling in pies and tortes or boiled in a soup.[125] _______ in later Europe was mainly cultivated for its fibers and was used for ropes on many ships, including those of Christopher Columbus.
The Spaniards brought _____ to the Americas and cultivated it in Chile starting about 1545.[126] Similar attempts were made in Peru, Colombia, and Mexico, but only in Chile did the crop find success.

At a glance as I have a long history with many story's like apparently being wrapped around mummies, being found in caves that date back 15,000 years, being planted for the emperor for their family use only, presidents grew me, Henry Ford made a car out of me, my first written mention found so far dates back around 2737 BC in the chinse medical text Pen Ts’ao Ching.

Some people even believe I'm mentioned in the bible if I am my light is starting to shine again as country's start allowing the legal commercial growth of me, in other countries I'm still illegal which began about in the early 1900s, which it used to be the other way round in some countries like America in some states it was illegal not to grow me, how times have changed.

Like in my history before I was used as or in medicine, food, textiles, paper, clothing, building materials, oil I am still relevant in use as I was in my history.

As you can see I've been around for a long time have you heard of me, do you know my name?

Let us know down in the comments if you know who I am!

Written by @biglipsmama

Resources
Wikipedia
Britannica
wikihow



Click the coin below to join our Discord Server

image.png

We would greatly appreciate your witness vote

To vote for @adsactly-witness please click the link above, then find "adsactly-witness" and click the upvote arrow or scroll to the bottom and type "adsactly-witness" in the box

Thank You

Sort:  

I am quite sure your name is "hemp".

That is correct :)