The Lady, The Rat and The Baseball Bat.

in #blog4 years ago

Yesterday was my 7-year wedding anniversary, and after a 10 job as a favor to a friend, I finally rolled into my house.

I was holding a bag with 2 large fish, chips and mushy peas and shouted my wife so we could at least eat something together.

While we were tucking into out dinner, my mobile phone rang, my wife looked at me in a way I know too we, you know that look, the one that says if you answer that phone your sleeping on the sofa look.

I looked at my phone to see it was one of my older customers who has senior moments now and then, so I thought I would just answer the phone and see what she was wanting.

Now the conversation went like this.

Me: Hi, are you alright Mrs .........

Mrs: No, I need you to come quick, there are 4 of them, and I can see them, and it's fluffy and it woke me, and they are looking at me, and I don't know how they got in my house, I'm on my own, help please.

Me: no worries I'm on my way.

Now, when you get a call that doesn't make any sense what so ever, I need to make sure she was alright, I jumped in my car and got there as quick as I could.

As I got to the door, she shouted me in, and there was my client stood at the door all distressed.

I thought she was getting robbed so I had taken my baseball bat with me.

This wasn't the case, she then went to tell me that she had gone for a nap and something had woke her.

It turns out a rat had climbed in through her window, and was on her bed, this had woke her, it wasn't 4 of them, it was 4 AM when it happened the night before, and they were not looking at her, she could see something that looked like a rat still in her bedroom.

I kid you not, the last thing I thought yesterday I would be doing would be emptying an old ladies bedroom looking for a rat.

She had scratch marks on her bed, some shoes that were kept in a corner had been Norred at, and there were other signs that she had had them in there, but I could not find any while I was there.

I had 2 beds on their sides, I had clothes in piles, covers and other things everywhere looking for this rat, but all I could find was tea bags and a pen.

By this time I knew I was going to have to put it all back, and I knew that there was nothing there.

I stud in her living room with my baseball bat in hand thinking to myself that if anyone had seen me go in the house with this bat they would report me.

So I made a point when I left of bringing the lady out with me to show the world that she was ok and I hadn't battered her.

I got home. my misses looked at me and said, next year you can turn your phone off when you get home as I had taken the piss.

In a way, I can see she is right, but in another way, if it was my mum or grandmother I couldn't bear to think that they had a rat in their bedroom either.

until next time my friends stay safe.

Sort:  

Good evening. An interesting story that made me smile. Thanks for sharing. Have a good evening.

This could totally be a sketch from a comedy show

It total could, I did some posts about 2 years ago about my time on the road as a pizza delivery guy, there was some really funny moments and some really crazy moments. :D

Congratulations @artonmysleeve! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You distributed more than 16000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 17000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board And compare to others on the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Power Up Day - Let's grow together!
Feedback from the Hive Meetup Vienna

Made my day😊
img_6756.png