What can you buy for $20 dollars in your local supermarket

in #blog3 years ago (edited)


The best measure for monitoring economy are local supermarkets, markets and grocery shops. It is not as important how currency is strong compared to others, but what you can buy for it.

I know that many people will mouth-water on western salaries, but it is a very narrow point of the view. The only way it can work is that a person has a western salary but 3th-country expenses...

For example, if you ask a person in US what they can buy with $20 most of them will instantly go 'erm..', because that it is, a big uncertain 'erm...'... unless they are completely clueless.

If I had to calculate food for myself, it would be pretty easy as I have a very simple menu: coffee, some sort of a breakfast, lunch and a very skinny or IF any dinner. Take in consideration my food is in general more expensive because I am intolerant to a thousand items and I have allergies.

I also buy food in a bulk, on discounts so I can have one single package for an entire month. If it is possible, I deep freeze everything, so my food lasts longer. Basically only fruit and salads are left in an open, and we eat them fast. The rest is in the freezer.

In my country 20 USD converts into about 130 HRK ( I rounded it). I can't really buy much, but it is not a little either.

 

dBuzz ¤ Reddit ¤ Reddit sub

Sort:  

Everyone has different requests. For some, 20 is a lot, for some it is not enough. In my country 20$ is 1500 RUB, so I can buy a whole cart of groceries. For my family of 5 people, it takes about $ 300-350 per month for food, so $ 20 is quite a decent amount for me

For us is about 130 USD per person per month for food. This is approximately.
The main difference is that me and a kid can't eat grains and soy, so we don't buy absolutely anything that contains that. Now imagine the savings. In the other hand, we spend more for ingredients that I use to make all things at home.


The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the person sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.