How things change!

in #blog3 years ago

This is a more personal blog post (hence the topics) than what I usually post here on Hive. So if your looking for updates on my projects that will have to come later, but if you curious as to why I haven't been updating the projects with the same fervor as I have in the past this will work as some insight. Also pictures of babies and stuff.

Man, where to begin.

New Flanagin!

That's right, shortly before the lock downs began my wife and I decided that it was time to have our third and final child and with surprisingly little effort we generated a new node that we have named "Ewan Archimedes Flanagin."

sleepawake
IMG_20210304_130105_441.jpgIMG_20210309_055443_733.jpg

The birth went great and everyone is super excited, and tired.

New Job !

That's right! Though I have no desire to stop working on my own projects or those related to Hive I have found stable and financially feasible employment! Where? Well at System76 the same company that makes the Thelio (which I blogged about sometime ago), and the company behind Pop!_OS (a relatively popular alternative to Windows or MacOS.) My current job is with the QA department which is a great place to start for a guy like me as it gives me the chance to reverse roles and be the one who reports the bugs instead of the one that introduces them. I've been working with them since Jan 15th (well technically Jan 18th) and couldn't be happier.

Don't really have pictures yet.

Which means...

I'm Moving

That's right, the job requires me to move to Colorado come June. So now all those little things we've been putting off around the house have become priority number one. New floors, new paint, rewired outlets because they burnt out during the cold snap. So much to do, so little time. I'll miss the the aquarium shown below, and all the trees.

IMG_20210304_123729_512.jpg

Its going to be an extremely busy next few months so things like Honeycomb,Framed,et.al. will need to be put to one side. For those curious the plan is to have my family stay with my mom while I live closer to Denver. This means I'll have plenty of time after work to focus on things like my games and programs. Hopefully this year will be one of the most productive yet!