Sort:  

Hi and thanks for taking me into this debate. I enjoy it :)

HaHa, very refreshing, these people who venture something.

Those who always want to be one hundred per cent sure not to make a fuss, to behave correctly, will have to be content that they will probably lead an existence of mediocrity for the duration of their hive existence (or their lives). Which is not a bad thing either.

The fact that people can get so upset about being tagged shows how much it annoys them that a "nobody" dares to act like a "somebody". Chapeaux, I say!

I don't often get pinged, so I welcome this surprising change and don't feel emotionally screwed in any way. Anyone who wants to make their business my business can at least try it. After all, I have the free choice to get involved or say no, don't I?

The excitement is part of the drama, of course, and in truth we all love it. The stage of real life is boring enough, you're not allowed to do anything risky anymore. The rules and regulations make it difficult to do anything daring on the open street. Don't be naked, don't swear loudly or laugh maniacally, don't make any fools of yourself, except in the theatre, where such things are a profession. Of course, prudery and bigotry demand the other extreme. So the pendulum is always swinging between the two and the agitators get excited.

I would not dare do something like that blogger. Lol.
Am I his judge? Does it have to piss me off that he has 30 accounts? I don't know, I'd have to put this person through his paces, get to know him, his personal background and motivations, only then I guess I could get a reasonably truthful picture. And that, too, would then be discoloured. So I don't allow myself an exaggerated judgement in public, at most in my quiet chamber and then, if it turns out badly, I say to myself: Aha, what is it that is speaking? Envy? Frustration? Why this anger? It is actually a good exercise in self-discipline not to get carried away by the part that is perhaps greedy or jealous. Ten days later and I wonder what the devil got me. Everything passes.

To reply to your comment under his blog: No, I'm not here for the money. It's incidental. If something comes in, fine. If not, fine too. Of course I like to have fat amounts under a post of mine, if only for the sake of appearance and because it seems to attract people to go where most of the flies are already sitting.

But I'm actually too comfortable and too ignorant to see through the crypto trading jungle. It's too tedious for me and that's why I don't do it. I blog because I like to write and can live out something here that would otherwise go mouldy on my hard drive.

I like your honesty and that you admit it sometimes makes you foxy to see how little apparent effort someone puts into their regular good edit here. Indeed, I often think that too, but it passes when I decide not to make it my business. There are always those who clamour for this job and those who in turn cater to that. Every pot finds its lid here ;-)

Thanks for involving me, I always appreciate to have a good conversation.

"To reply to your comment under his blog: No, I'm not here for the money. It's incidental. If something comes in, fine. If not, fine too. Of course I like to have fat amounts under a post of mine, if only for the sake of appearance and because it seems to attract people to go where most of the flies are already sitting."
Absolutely perfect, seriously, couldn't have put it better myself and totally mirrors my view. 👍

Bummer - so I left nothing to debate about? :(

HaHa!

Have a good time.

I'll respond here. Of course Hive is about money, but the community (mainly those who invested time/money in it) get to decide what posts should earn. People will try to work around that with multiple accounts and self-votes, but they are often found out. Hive will not succeed unless it can also become a place where people go to find good content as most will not make much from it.

As for tagging hundreds of people, that can be seen as abuse of the platform, but it depends on your motivations. Nobody has complained about me doing it on the Brit List posts as I assume they find it useful. You have to be careful about editing the post as that re-triggers the notifications.

We've seen plenty of ranty posts complaining about getting downvoted. In many cases I see it as justified and the rant will get them nowhere. There are no official rules here, but people will decide for themselves what is crap. Most are scared to downvote anyway. The content will still be there, so it's not strictly censorship. It's more about the rewards. There are cliques who support each other and that is an issue. Maybe the new curation algorithm will encourage more real curation that is about quality, but we shall see.

I do have more than one account for specific purposes and I do not self-vote with them.

Anyway, this person got plenty of attention with @stickupboys using lots of their GIFs. Lots of comments, but no rewards.

That's the classic: Like you said. It's OK if you tagged 8000 accounts but not OK when you're [supposedly] trying to present your case to the community at large. I think the point here is, 2% of the Hive community hold far more power as in actual power than the remaining 98%. If that 2% doesn't like someone or what they're doing, they have the power to hound them off the platform basically, which brings us nicely back to 'accountability.' and “Quis custodiet ipsos custodes?” ("Who will guard the guards themselves?") it seems to me it's very easy to get, for want of a better word, blacklisted and yet insanely difficult to either clear one's name or gain as public an apology as the very public blacklisting an individual received.

Yes, a minority do have a lot of control, but if they make the platform unappealing then their stake loses value. There has to be some balance between controlling abuse and not driving people away. I keep saying we need more people with a decent stake to dilute the power of the whales.

Actually the 'middle classes' have a lot of power. Some people have invested a lot of 'real' money to get that power because they believe in Hive. Many are running at a loss for now. It's a proof of stake platform like it or not.

Chart
From here

I wonder what ".....Believe in Hive" means to the majority of the community? Does it mean "I can earn loads from this lark for very little input!" or does it mean "I can meet new friends and build relationships with this."?

Cynical Pete believes the vast majority are only in it for what they can make. I'd be willing to bet you my paltry account value that if Hive announced it was doing away with crypto-based rewards the membership would drop to lower than whale pooh and whale pooh drops pretty low my friend. 💩

Well duh! Of course a lot of people are here just for the money, just as many people use open source because it's gratis. There will be a range of opinions with these things. The time I have invested here might not be justifiable for what I make, especially in the early days, but I thought it was worth supporting as an alternative to ad-funded corporations. I get great engagement that is not just about money. I've made a lot of friends and when we meet up it's not to ask 'how much did you make this week?'.

As for whale poo:

The nutrients that they ingest and process through their body is later released as flocculent fecal plumes. This basically means that whale poop doesn't sink, but floats. The release of these fecal plumes brings nutrients to the upper layer of the ocean known as the photic zone.

!BEER

Rubbish, utter rubbish. Whale pooh sinks, and the earth is flat, you heretical falsehood spreader! You should be burnt at the stake for your blasphemy.

If ever I go to a Hive meet, I most defiantly will be saying, "How the buggery bollocks did you earn that much for........"

Next you'll be saying that wealth 'trickles down'!

Would be great to have you at a meetup. We had some in the Midlands before. I'm waiting for someone to set some up this year. Might be viable soon.


Hey @dickturpin, here is a little bit of BEER from @steevc for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.

Amazing to see so many active users.... I don't understand the politics and am not that bothered to get involved but nice to see Hive users in one place!

I've seen this user mentioned in the anti-abuse channels, but not looked into it too much. It's often the case that controversial posts about Hive generate the most comments. Tagging that many people is likely to antagonise some. There are some people who tag me a lot, but I tend to ignore them.

Lol yes being tagged for something nothing do do with us is very common for us on all social media....kind of get used to it so just look at it a way to meet new people. It does not offend me lol

Imagine what it's like if you are really famous (well I guess you are). The notifications would be unmanageable.

lol well someone else would be doing the social media....

I don't know if I should feel mad and besmirched he included me in the tag-bomb or amused honestly. It was a shitstorm but who doesn't love a good trainwreck sometimes. Although it doesn't look that great, it was pretty 1 sided, someone just flinging angryposts into the void at everyone and everything lol

People are stupid, TBH. I'm convinced most of the time, they act angry for the Internet audience. For example, spam isn't that bad, and I actually read mine from time to time mainly because it's so hysterical. Who doesn't find an email that opens "I pray that the Lord will guide you to prosper........ Just send me your bank details...."funny? Bwahahaha

I don't have a problem with anyone tagging/including/pining me in their posts. I get a notification that way, and I'm guaranteed to look at the post then, so it's all good with me.

Yeah if i do a blog and @ someone I make sure I say why I specifically did so. Usually something like "I really loved this users post here, go read it, its great, heres my thoughts about all the topics they talked about." or something like that. Or if its my splinterlands guildmates, we @ eachother all the time but we're all friends on discord n such so thats cool.

As I said, I know why they did it. To basically shove it under every Hive users nose. It was a stupid thing to do, though, when the biggest accusation against them was spamming, so their action was basically a cosmic facepalm. 🤣