Review of GlenAllachie Speyside Single Malt Scotch...

in #blog4 years ago

... Whiskey 12 Year, and how to enjoy during COVID-19...

20200323_192518.jpg

This is a very smooth scotch. You'll get all of the typical flavors that you'd expect from a Macallen or Glenlivet 12 in this spirit. I found this gem as a suggestion from my local spirit shop when asking about what new Scotches I could try that fit the flavor profile and "non-peaty" nature of the "big names" previously mentioned.

Having been disappointed before, I came into this suggestion with an open mind and low expectations. With that said, I am thoroughly impressed. I can definitely taste the butterscotch and honey in this spirit. I would say that I taste the marzipan and bananas also, but that'd be a lie. Maybe the bananas? but I honestly wouldn't know what marzipan tasted like if it hit me in the face.

My experience: I add 1-2 cubes of ice when I enjoy my Scotches (at least the 12-year old/young ones). I find that this brings out some of the more-subtle flavors in a Scotch and takes away a bit of the "after-burn" in your throat that comes with most Scotches.

20200327 2.png

Survival Guide 101 to Novel Coronavirus: Extreme Social Distancing!

Unless you're part of a select few, Scotch and a Cigar is a surefire way to naturally provide yourself with Social Distancing. Not even my wife (who enjoys a rare Cigar) was willing to join me on this beautiful evening outside.

Stay Safe, Hive!

Sort:  

Mmmmm... Speyside. 😋