I came across this today, and wanted to share.

in #blog3 years ago

Walk on a Rocky Road Slang Quotes.jpg

I'm not usually one for 'inspirational quotes'. Getting older and a healthy dose of cynicism usually puts paid to me taking them in.

However, I heard this earlier today and it really jumped out at me - especially as I know I overthink things and am also an awful prevaricator.

Having said that, I do have my own aphorism that I will dole out to folk at the slightest provocation - the fact that things come along if you set your mind to things. Maybe I've just been very lucky - but that's sort of how it's been for me at various points in my life.

But I'd never come across this quote before - which feels a bit strange because it aligns so closely with that.

I'm a big Richard Herring fan, and for his 300th RHLSTP podcast, where he usually interviews other comedians and actors, the tables were turned and John Robins interviewed him. At one point, John read out this quote. Attributed to the mountaineer William Hutchison Murray, after him being asked about climbing K2.

Until one is committed, there is hesitancy, the chance to draw back, always ineffectiveness. Concerning all acts of initiative (and creation), there is one elementary truth, the ignorance of which kills countless ideas and splendid plans: that the moment one definitely commits oneself, then Providence moves too. All sorts of things occur to help one that would never otherwise have occurred. A whole stream of events issues from the decision, raising in one's favour all manner of unforeseen incidents and meetings and material assistance, which no man could have dreamt would have come his way. I have learned a deep respect for one of Goethe's couplets:
"Whatever you can do, or dream you can, begin it.
Boldness has genius, power, and magic in it!"

I love it. It's getting printed out and stuck up in my office.

A reminder to me to take my own advice sometimes and JFDI.

.g

Sort:  

That's an absolute wonderful quote and one I can totally find myself in! I think this in general is the problem with getting older, you more often stop to think "can I do this" and when there is doubt, often you don't start. I would say I am still pretty bold and just do things, but it often seems paired with a heavier sentiment as you feel a certain amount of responsibility. I think that is likely the one thing I miss most about me when I was younger. I was even bolder and truly believed I could do about anything! For your amusement and a little hidden gem most people won't ever find out about: when I was 16 I ran away from home (proper missing, child focus posters and TV missing messages and all) with 200 Euros. I 100% believed I could travel the world and would never come back. Of course the police caught me at some point (in a different country), but that strong sense of belief in the self, it amazes me at times looking back at it. In a way it was (perhaps) also naive to believe this would've been possible!