The continuing adventures of me and the hot air balloons

in #blog3 years ago

These things seem to be following me now. After lamenting not seeing them for months and months they seem to be everywhere.

This morning I was dozing, in the glorious time that only exists on weekends and holidays, not quite asleep but also not quite awake and I hear a strange noise. This is not unusual, I live the the inner city there is always something going on, but this is a weird noise and sort of rushing noise.

It takes a second or two to register, it's the sound on a hot air balloons firing it's burners to rise up. But it's close, really close.

I get up and wander over the the window, and see a balloon floating about 100 metres away from the side of the our apartment.

I go over to the balcony, past the couch, there is definitely more of them

image.png

coming from the west

image.png

Low which is unusual, but climbing, which they will need to do to avoid hitting the church, I don't doubt it will, these things climb quickly.

image.png

and then they are up and away floating on the breeze towards the east

image.png

The biggest mystery now, why is there a hot air balloon in Australia sporting the brands for a chain of caravan parks in the Netherlands? Although this does appear to be a old logo, maybe the second hand balloon market is rife.

Sort:  

Nice ones and a !BEER


Hey @harveyword, here is a little bit of BEER from @detlev for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.