Interlude: Merry tropical Christmas from Mexico! (Photo-blog with curiosities)

in #blog6 years ago (edited)

Once more, I have landed in Xalapa, land of the jalapeno pepper. As you might have noticed, I am keeping the content light this week here in my blog since I have been mostly occupied traveling, catching up with friends and life as I only arrived in Mexico last Monday.

Note to self: In the future AVOID getting the middle seat on the super long transatlantic flight.

Both my neighboring passengers seemed to either have iron bladders or adult diapers on, since they barely got up once or twice to use the restroom during the entire 11-hour flight! WHAT.

Conversely, they probably thought I had some sort of kidney problem since I kept getting up. Sorry, I am used to drinking lots of liquids and that comes with a price... besides my legs start killing me if I stay sitting down in that tiny cramped space for more than a couple of hours.

Not too happy, but at least getting closer to home!

One of the only perks of flying at such ungodly hours... Cotton candy sky lights bathing the volcanoes that serve as Mexico City's background.

I am so glad to be home, though. As per usual, there are plenty of crazy and amazing things awaiting for me in this colorful land. These are some of the sights of the past few days.

To begin with, this might be especially interesting to @trumpman. Below, there are a couple of exotic fruits that so far I have only seen in Mexico and definitely do not exist back there in Germany:

This is the zapote negro (black zapote), which quoting @replichara "doesn't look particularly edible" but if you mash the pulp and add orange juice and a glimpse of honey to it, it is delightful!

This is the zapote chico (small zapote), which is my favorite. The texture is similar to that of a very ripe pear, but the taste is completely different, it is very sweet and delicate.

More market goodies:

Fresh cheese!

Let me introduce you to a Mexican delicacy: huitlacoche, which is a kind of parasitic fungus that grows on corn cobs. Fried and seasoned it makes for a really delicious taco filling. 

Some weird tuberculous roots that I could not identify. Note how if while buying fresh produce you suddenly feel the urge to get some crotchless panties, this market has you covered! Talk about being eclectic...

Right now I am staying at my grandfather's house near the beach to celebrate Christmas. I think I made the right decision by leaving grey and cold Berlin, for this:

And of course, what a better way to start the day than a morning workout:

Not the time for glamour...

Not too shabby for a view, uh? It helps taking the mind away from the muscle burn...

After killing my legs, arms and core, and assaulting the eyes of unsuspecting passersby with some shadowboxing featuring my signature spinning hook kicks, my spotlight was completely stolen by some guy that showed up in roller blades and then started doing some crazy yoga handstands and pretzel-like poses. Well played, man... well played...

At least I got to see this daredevil squirrel playing tightrope walking, on my way back...

Then I got back home to this well earned tasty Mexican breakfast (as you can see, I am currently on a break from my usual keto diet!), featuring: vegetable tortilla, black beans, fresh cheese, guacamole and fried plantain (my new addiction!). 

This blog will continue with its usual science/martial arts/culture programming next week after the 26th. 

Meanwhile, have fun, relax and enjoy the company of your loved ones! I wish you all a very joyful Christmas...


Cheers!

Irime

Sort:  

Ohhhh huitlacoche! Corn smut! Ustilago maydis - I've wanted to try it for the longest time, but it is difficult to get in the US. What does it taste like?

As I understand it the smut is considered a major blessing when it infects corn where eating the fungus is popular - but I think it still has pathogen status for much of the global industry in countries where folks don't much care to eat it.

Personally, I would pay a good amount of money for the opportunity to try a fresh batch. Was it very expensive?

@dber couldn't expect less from our resident mycologist! ;-)

It is kind of hard to describe the taste, but I reckon is one of those things like shrimp that have a mild taste and kinda take up the flavor of the things you cook them with. They are not expensive, and at least here in Xalapa (and Mexico City) you can find them easily in the markets.

I think I might be able to find these canned or pickled in my neighborhood in NY, but something tells me it would be a bad introduction.

Owww thanks for the mention, that black zapote looks like crap but I am really curious to eat one now :D Great travel blog, really enjoyed reading it :D

Wanna trade places? You come to Slovenia (below zero outside of'course) and i'll go on that awesome beach :D Great post as always !

@behemoth18 Is it snowing? Because I love snow! (for a limited time, that is, hehe).

I'm glad to see you back :-)

Check out my post on my new years holidays :D it was snowy af :D
Glad to be back thanks!

Priceless! Right next to the camotes.

The plants in the background are tight.

Hahaha, indeed!

The plants are part of my grandmother's collection :-)

Hope you are enjoying your trip home! That breakfast looks tasty :) And crotchless panties at the market is a bonus... you don't see that often. Merry Christmas :)

It's such a good combination, who could have thought that fried plantains went well with everything, haha...

Merry christmas to you as well!

Feliz Navidad!

Gracias! Igualmente ;-)

Bienvenida @irime. Disfruta tu vacaciones.Pasa mi vacaciones en monterrey.

Gracias, @turpsy! Espero que pases felices fiestas también.

This looks like "Yuca" :) We have it in Cuba too, our "Tainos " made a kind of bread called "Casabe" with it. YOu have it also in Asia. In Berlin you can find it in the asiatics markets only.

I did not knew about the huitlacoche. Crazy!!!
I should ask my mexican part of the family to get some to try it :)
Thanks for sharing!