Just Some Babbling About Gardens, Editing, and Writing

in #blog3 years ago

header.png

I've been fairly busy during the past week or so -- preparing to become a business owner in the future, studying basic editing and proofreading, writing my own imaginary words... and waiting. So much waiting.

Where to begin!

dominity.png

Babbling 'bout Business Things!

For nearly three weeks I've been trying to come up with the perfect name to call my future Editing and Proofreading business. Two days ago I finally came up with something. Which I shall keep to myself for the time being.

I wanted something casual, but not overly casual. I've looked at so many other websites owned by other editors and proofreaders and they all have one thing in common: high-end babble to make themselves sound overly professional and thus worthy, but the result ends in them sounding too intimidating to actually interact with. For the little indie author anyway.

Obviously I want to be professional, but I don't see the point in the babble. My goal is to speak in layman's terms, communicate in a friendly and casual yet professional manner, and to be open in ways others are not.

For example: there is nothing wrong with purple prose unless it truly is entirely out of place or simply reads wrong. I'm not going to edit that shit out except in my future exam. Also: a lot of people are PC-Pansies -- I am not. I'm more than happy to proofread and edit a lewd and crude and politically incorrect, possibly bigoted, racist, tasteless piece of writing. I write it myself and I'm not going to judge or condemn another author for it.

Thus, my somewhat casual approach and want of a casual sounding business name. 😁

Although I'm sure this will pop up later in the business aspect of the course I'm studying, I've also self-studied everything I'm going to need to go through as this actually comes closer. ABN registration, Business Name registration since I'm not using my actual name, Trademarks, etc.

It does seem a bit backward in ways though. For example: I can't register a 'com.au' web domain without a registered ABN first. I can't get an ABN until I've made steps towards starting my business. My business will very likely mostly be online, thus I need the domain first.

I'll work it out. 🙄

123.jpg

Babbling 'bout Gardens!

My basil!

My poor, baby basils!

2.jpg

I have no idea what's happened. I never saw this in the other basil I grew a couple of years ago. Googling tells me that could be Fungal Leaf Spot? And that makes me so sad.

If it is that -- I'm not sure if I can fix this? Or if I should just pull them all out? 😭😭😭 ALL of them are affected.

But could it also be a pest related thing instead?

I have no idea! The tomatoes aren't affected. Brocolli is fine. Spring onion and chives are fantastic. Carrots are great. The silverbeet is still trying to survive... everything else seems to be fine. But... my basil!

Wouldn't bugs eat everything? Or is basil just -that- delicious?

3.jpg

I also bought a couple more pots and planted marigold in them. The mixed 'beneficial insect attracting' seeds that I got were supposed to contain marigold seeds, but I've seen everything but marigold.

So, I chose to fix that myself and plant some dedicated marigold. 🌾

boogity.png

Babbling 'bout Writing!

Last week some time I mentioned that I was super excited about a book idea. So excited that I even bought the cover in advance and everything.

Over the past week I've outlined the main points of the story. Combed through the previous writing I had done with Sebastian and Henry. Thought of ways for it all to actually make sense, since the previous writing was all over the place due to being written in a frenzy during a NaNoWriMo-style challenge.

And I like to think that it's all working out well so far! 😊

I've started writing the first chapter and I've done a whole whopping 600 words, but it's a start.

I'm still planning on blockchain-publishing the rough first draft before editing and refining it privately. Just need to get these chapters going first.

I can't really give a timeline on that, however. Studying and Business Planning is a part of it, but there's also a selfish reason... the Mass Effect Legendary Edition is finally being released in my region tomorrow morning and I have some galaxy saving to do.

I play Mass Effect at least once a year, and I missed out last year due to the knowledge the remastered edition was coming, and I've been waiting and waiting for this very day.

Once I get that out of my system though... 😅

hive_firstdraft_headerimage.png

...keep an eye out for this header image in the weeks to come.

Story time is coming! 📚🎈😄

In the meantime... prepare for lots of Mass Effect: Legendary Edition - Photo Mode abuse in coming days.

 

Until next time,


Thanks for stopping by!

 


 

All images in this post are courtesy of me, @kaelci

Sort:  

Oh, I hope you stick with the writing style that you described!

A bit more than a decade of watching Australia from the outside... Everyone seems to speak like a weird mash of boardroom corporate mumbo-jumbo... Even to describe very simple things!

I plan to! I like to think it'll be a breath of fresh air within the mass of boardroom-babble. 😅

I don't understand half the stuff that is written these days. Painstaking Legalese-Speak for everything from "Does My Cat Hate Me?" articles to simple spaghetti bolognaise recipes. It's really not needed!

I thought I was the only one that thought that... everyone in Australia seems to have adopted this way of speaking, and I thought it was just me because I lived away for so long!

I once had a music rehearsal where people were talking about "temporal displacement" (it is just taking time....) and as a previous Physics student, I want to kill someone each time I hear "Quantum"!

It's a pleasure to read your blog! Every word is full of sense and beauty, I like your writing style. I would also like to write my blog, but I understand it will be no comparison with yours, as I can't write so well. Besides, I don't have enough time for it, sometimes I even order my papers from https://www.trustmypaper.com/ These guys write excellent academic papers, their prices are affordable, and they offer discounts for all their customers.