Photo Sunday ~ Ululah Lagoon

in #blog3 years ago

DSC_0132-header.png

It's been an odd winter. Some mornings have been 2°C, others have been 18°C; some days have been 16°C, and others have been 30°C. Today was one of the cooler days, which I'm thankful for. I prefer cold days and sitting around all snug in my dressing gown with big fluffy socks on.

I used to dream of having two houses, one in each hemisphere, so I could enjoy the cooler weather all the time and never have to suffer through summer. 😛 Alas, 'twas not to be.

1DSC_0101.jpg

Today we went to Ululah Lagoon, which is a water-bird sanctuary here in Maryborough.

Not that you would really know it was a sanctuary since there's a water park, two expansive playgrounds, tennis courts, and a skate park all in this one location, oh, and a golf course across the way. (The Golf Club of which has the best Chinese food in town!)

1DSC_0092.jpg

If you follow the path around the entire park, it ends up being a 5km walk which is nice...

...not so nice when you already walk 12km nearly every weekday and your legs are tired on the weekend and kind of just want to laze about. But it was nice to just waltz around slowly for a bit, taking photos of whatever.

1DSC_0103.jpg

All the white blobs on this distant oasis are ibises, those ugly, feathered creatures lovingly known as Bin Chickens.

1DSC_0080.jpg

1DSC_0120.jpg

And... here is my son, unaware that I'm taking photos of him as well as any bird that crosses my path! Muahaha.

1DSC_0109.jpg

'twas a nice day!

We're going to go back later to grab some Chinese for dinner from the Golf Club. 😅 Nom nom nom. Have been craving it for weeks and going out there today just cemented it for tonight.

 

Until next time,


Thanks for stopping by!

 


 

All photos in this post are courtesy of me, @kaelci, and were taken with an aging Nikon D5000 I desperately want to replace. 😶

Sort:  

That does look like a lovely day, and your son looks a bit like one of your birds readying to take flight.

I'm with you on temperature. I'd rather be cold than hot. I can do something about cold.

I'm blind and only just saw your comment today. 😱

It was a lovely day! Thanks!

And I love the cold. I'll happily walk around in a dressing gown with big fluffy socks on, or warm pants and giant jumpers. A nice cozy blanket on the couch. It's lovely. Plus, as someone who walks a lot, it's far more pleasurable walking in the cold than it is beneath the hot, sweat-inducing, sunburn-giving sun.

Congratulations @kaelci! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You distributed more than 15000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 16000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Connect

Trade


@kaelci! This post has been manually curated by the $PIZZA Token team!

Learn more about $PIZZA Token at hive.pizza. Enjoy a slice of $PIZZA on us!